Cazuela de Vaca (Beef and Pumpkin Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
It is true the pumping is different than the Chilean one, but lets enjoy what mother nature give us on each place. But pleeeeaaassseee peeled the potatoes, so you take the dirt flavor off the food. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This Stew was a big hit in my home. I used half red potatoes and half sweet potatoes. I took the advice from reviews and added Cumin and used butternut squash instead of pumpkin. This is a great stew. Served it with warm Irish soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
What an excellent recipe for the cold weather! Very easy to make. I added yellow squash and delicata squash. The delicata squash is sweet giving the stew another layer of flavor. Also, I coated the meat in flour and lightly browned it before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I had intended to add picture but the family loved this so much there was nothing left. Instead of beef I used chicken and chicken stock. Everything else in the recipe was used. Family approved this will for sure be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! One of my favourites Chilean dishes! And if you eat it with a chilean salad (tomato and onion) is one of the best things you can try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constanza Farfán

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
SUPER! I eliminated the red pepper and corn on the cob, and substituted butternut squash for the pumpkin. It was delicious and we really enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I liked this recipe. I thought it came our really good. Used butternut squash instead of pumpkin but otherwise followed recipe exactly. Slightly bland but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
South American 'pumpkin' is completely different from North American Pumpkin. It is sweeter and much softer, more a squash really. DO NOT USE PUMPKIN, SUBSTITUTE with Butternut Squash. I would use Knorr beef bouillon instead of beef broth and add sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have two Chilean students staying with us and I made this for them. They said it was very good and even went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was a huge hit for our thanksgiving lunch for 4 people.I cooked it all in a crock pot over night except I didn't add the pumpkin. Then the next morning I cut the top off a pumpkin and saved the top for later. Meanwhile I had some other pumpkin chunks I added to the stew and let it simmer for another 2 hrs. I transported part of the stew into the pumpkin and baked it with a foil on top. I baked it for another hr but I think that was too long. The bottom started to leek. I would say maybe 20 minuted would have enough time for the pumpkin to bake. The top was too big for it to fit in the oven on the pumpkin, so I cooked it for about 30 minutes so it would have an even color. This was an excellent recipe my whole family loved but the only problem I saw was cooking the pumpkin too long. Other than that A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States