Cavatini II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This is an excellent cavatini! Changes: I use much less pepperoni and add 1 lb of Italian sausage. I cook the onion, green pepper, and mushrooms with the sausage and add a can of sliced black olives, drained. I use rotini pasta only and mix it in with the meat sauce, I hate naked pasta. I mix the ricotta and 2 cups mozzerella together and add a beaten egg. Then put half the pasta mixture in the pan, then half the cheese mixture, the remaining pasta and then remaining cheese. I put an additional cup of mozzerella on top and sprinkle with Parmesan. Add garlic toast and a bottle of red wine and you've got a festive and FUN dinner. Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I'm Janice, the submitter of this recipe. Just wanted you folks to know that you can add 2 more cups of pasta to stretch this recipe (as it was originally written). Howled when I read the comment about taking off the plastic wrap of the pepperoni...did the same thing the very first time I made it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
If I could give this more stars I would, my husband and I loved this!!! I added a pound of Italian sausage. I really liked how the cheesy mixture sticks to the noodles. Sooooo good! It took me about 1 hour and 30 minutes to assemble everything. I like to pick meals that allow me to cook once on the weekend and then take leftovers to lunch. I get tired of taking sandwiches. This will make a great leftover. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This is a great recipe for using up those 'nearly empty' boxes of pasta that hang around in the cupboard - I used small shells, macaroni and campanelle. It's also incredibly easy, and tasty too! If I made this again, I would add extra-sharp Cheddar to the cheese mixture - it was just a little bit on the bland side. Thanks for the recipe, Janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was I browned some ground beef and added it to the sauce. Made with Italian Herb bread I from this site and served with a nice salad. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
The pasta in this casserole has a great creamy texture, and the sauce is great- especially the pepperoni. Cottage cheese worked well as a substitution for the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
love this recipe. i always make two so i can freeze one for later. you will find this recipe very easy to adapt. often i will make a veg. version with zuccini and mushrooms. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhea
Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This was FABULOUS!! My whole family LOVED this, I can't wait to make it again...I didn't change a thing!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Delicious! The pepperoni adds enough spice to ensure a good kick. Although I found the recipe only made enough for 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Made this for Valentines day and it was GREAT. Will have to use a more flavorful tomato sauce next time, and I used sweet Italian sausage instead of the pepperoni, but with the way it came out, I'm ecstatic about trying it with the pepperoni!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States