Cavatini II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wow! Where do I start....this was absolutely fabulous. The flavors were outstanding...didn't change a thing and cooked it as written. I think that this time I will add some sweet italian sausage like some other reviewers did...along with the pepperoni of course. Shared this recipe with co-workers and as one co-worker said..."it was to die for fabulous!" Keeping it in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made this as given only added some lean ground beef and sliced Italian sausages. It was great! My husband and I both loved it. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was good but I thought it had too much Ricotta, made mine a little lumpy. I did like using the 3 different macaroni types, great way to get rid of what's left in the bottom of the box. I did also add alot more spices in the sauce. 4 star, will try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
If you love baked ziti, you will love this glorified version. You don't have to buy a premade tomatoe sauce. Since you cook the sauce with all of the vegetable/meat additions for an hour, you are basically "making" your own sauce, so why add more jarred sauce. Just throw in a 32 oz. can crushed tomatoes and 2 (yes 2) cans of paste and one paste can full of water and some seasonings of your choice and you will be very satisfied with the outcome. Makes a delicious tomato/vegetable sauce. I loved using the 3 different types of macaroni. You just have to add them to the boiling water at different times because some take longer to cook. Thanks for a nice take on baked ziti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I assume when you say "spaghetti sauce" you meant the premade jar type, which I never buy... so my sauce was a bit different, I used fresh parsley, basil, and oregano, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, and a lot more garlic, but other than that, I followed the recipe, and it was lovely. My husband complimented it twice and got seconds; that's the best I can hope for from any meal ;) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I tweaked this recipe only a tiny bit...we ADORE garlic, so a couple of extra cloves found their way in! Next time, however, I will probably cut the tomato paste in half...even after adding a touch of baking soda, we still felt the need to pop a couple of TUMS after dinner. Great base recipe, delicious on its own...while still leaving room for custom touches of your own (extra veggies, different cheeses). Next time, I might add some fresh basil, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Awesome! I had been looking for this recipe for years. Reminds me of what I used to get from Pizza Hut but they no longer sell it. Thanks for sharing ! No changes left as is. Awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
It was too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I loved this and so did my husband. It was great!! I did not change anything the first time but I will add hamburger next time. Thanks for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States