Cavatini II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I really didn't think this was as great as the reviews I read. It's like a simpler way of preparing lasagne without the lasagne noodles. I will make next time with some changes copying some steps from my lasagne recipe that my family loves (including picky teenager). I will use cream cheese instead of ricotta. Mix 2 tsp chicken bouillion powder with the cream cheese and add 2 cups shredded cooked chicken (boiled chicken breast or boneless chicken thighs...depending on what you like best, white or dark meat). Double the sauce and boil with chopped jalapeno peppers instead of pepperoni. Bake COVERED in foil for 30 minutes, then remove the foil add the mozzarella cheese, and bake another 15 minutes. By baking uncovered for 30 minutes it dries up the sauce and cheese. It's best to add the cheese in the last 10-15 minutes. I would not typically use store bought spaguetti sauce....but if I had to choose one that tastes great, I'd recommend Barilla or another high end sauce. A good sauce makes a big difference on the final result. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I left out the mushrooms and green peppers and this was simply delish!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I omitted the mushrooms as my DH isnt too fond of mushrooms..They were not missed..Excellent recipe..The BEST Cavatini ever. Thank U for this wonderful recipe. I will be making it often....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was okay, but we prefer the dish with italian sausage that has been browned and drained. It is a an easy week night dinner and very child friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was I browned some ground beef and added it to the sauce. Made with Italian Herb bread I from this site and served with a nice salad. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
My entire family loved this! I added some ground beef and cheddar cheese, and used cottage cheese in place of the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Delicious! The pepperoni adds enough spice to ensure a good kick. Although I found the recipe only made enough for 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Very tasty. It took quite awhile, and I'm not sure I would make it very often because of that, but it was good. It tasted like something you would get as a side dish at a pizza place, but it was definately filling enough to eat as the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this recipie for supper it was a big hit!! We all loved it, I chopped the onion and pepper very small because of kids, I decreased the pepperoni a little, used a combination cheese mix of, parmasean, asiago, romano, and provalone, all fresh grated and already mixed from Sams, yummy, I also used part skim ricotta, I also doubled the recipe. I will make this again and for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States