Cavatini II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe, I left out the sausage and made my own sauce, adding paprika, rosemary, salt and pepper to taste. It was so easy to make and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
One of the best tomato "gravies" I've had in a long time. It was very close to my mother's, which I had been trying to duplicate. Following suggestions of others, however, I added Italian sausage (1/2 plain and 1/2 hot) and reduced the pepperoni. The pepperoni didn't add much and I will omit it next time. I also will increase the pasta, but won't bother with the macaroni. I cooked the sausage first, removed it, then added the vegetables, then the tomatoes, and returned the sausage. I didn't find it difficult. While the sauce was cooking, I did other things, and while the "cavatini" was baking, I set the table and prepared the rest of the meal. The sauce can easily be prepared ahead of time, and would also be delicious on other cooked pastas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
We all loved this one. The only downfall is that it takes so long to make. I will make this again on a night where I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Excellent, definitely going in the monthly rotation. The only things I did a little differently is in the sauce I used a 26-oz jar of marinara sauce with 1 can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes instead of a 32 oz jar of spagetti sauce. I also used 1-1/2 cups of rigatoni, and 1-1/2 cups of tri colored rotini, and left out the elbow macaroni. I also threw in a splash of milk in the pasta and cheese to make it a little creamier and a little less sticky. Very very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
DELISH! I used a spicy Arabiatta sauce for the spagetti sauce. I did not use pepperoni, but spicy ground sausage instead- it had a kick! Everyone loved it- I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I did make some changes due to what I had on hand, but the bulk of the recipe was the same. I used a red pepper instead of green, and only used a cup of pepperoni and 8 ounces of mushrooms. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and I cut down the mozzarella. I used just penne rather than the pasta mix. The flavor was really spectacular and was quite different than anything i've ever had in a restaurant (due to the pepperoni). I would really recommend it! Also - by using lowfat cottage cheese & less mozzarella, it really cut back and on the calories, but the flavor was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My son was returning from a trip with Gramma thru the Mediterranean, so I made this for his "welcome home" lunch. He does not eat onion, peppers, or mushrooms, so I pureed them in a little of the spaghetti sauce and he never knew they were there! Score one for Mom!!! Plus, he's a pepperoni fanatic so he was happy when he saw that- nevermind it was turkey pepperoni- nobody could tell! Used part skim ricotta and part skim cheeses. Got rave reviews from both son and husband. Leftovers for dinner tonight- YAY!!! WELL worth a little more effort than regulat spaghetti! Thanks Rumour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was VERY good, added 1 lb of Owen's Italian sausage fried with the bell peppers/onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I really like the idea of this recipe. It's really a kind of... simplified Lasagna. The same basic ingredients with a different presentation to it. I'll definitely be giving this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a great Pizza In A Casserole recipe. Anything and everything you like on a pizza can be included. You might be tempted to leave out the tomato paste, DON'T. It really is necessary. I have made this for years and kids and adults both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Rigatoni with Duck, Apples, & Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Barilla® Gluten Free Pasta Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States