Cavatini II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Nice lasagna substitute. I used my own sauce, but liked the different pastas and the pepperoni. My kids gobbled it up so I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I've made this several times. I thought the pepperoni would be too salty but it's not the case. It adds a great taste and is a nice alternative to ground beef. I took a double-batch to a potluck and came home with an empty dish. I'm lactose intolerant and used lactose free cheese and it tasted great. My lactose free friends were delighted to have a pasta casserole that they could eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My Kids Loved it. They said it taste like Lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I loved this and so did my family!!! I have been looking for something that had a chunky sauce and baked the pasta. I did make a couple of subtle changes. We don't care for pepperoni so I substituted turkey Italian sausage and lowfat Ricotta. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Great to put together ahead of time and fire up during the NFL playoffs! We substituted Italian sausage (sliced) for the pepperoni and it was oh-so-good. Our guests copied the recipe on the way out the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Great! Followed the recipe exactly. A great alternative to lasagna and spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wv_mtnr_cook_78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
wonderful dish! I made my own sauce because i had the time, but this was great! However, i used more pasta than what the recipe called for. I don't see how this could possibly be 12 servings. Unless it wasn't the main course. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
If I could give this more stars I would, my husband and I loved this!!! I added a pound of Italian sausage. I really liked how the cheesy mixture sticks to the noodles. Sooooo good! It took me about 1 hour and 30 minutes to assemble everything. I like to pick meals that allow me to cook once on the weekend and then take leftovers to lunch. I get tired of taking sandwiches. This will make a great leftover. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This is an excellent cavatini! Changes: I use much less pepperoni and add 1 lb of Italian sausage. I cook the onion, green pepper, and mushrooms with the sausage and add a can of sliced black olives, drained. I use rotini pasta only and mix it in with the meat sauce, I hate naked pasta. I mix the ricotta and 2 cups mozzerella together and add a beaten egg. Then put half the pasta mixture in the pan, then half the cheese mixture, the remaining pasta and then remaining cheese. I put an additional cup of mozzerella on top and sprinkle with Parmesan. Add garlic toast and a bottle of red wine and you've got a festive and FUN dinner. Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This recipe was great. I added some extra pasta and a can of tomato sauce. Also some extra seasoning and cheese. It turned out great and we had plenty of left overs. I will definantly make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States