Cavatini II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This came out pretty good. I used 1 box of ziti and half of the pepperoni. The ki8ds loved it. I may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wow! Where do I start....this was absolutely fabulous. The flavors were outstanding...didn't change a thing and cooked it as written. I think that this time I will add some sweet italian sausage like some other reviewers did...along with the pepperoni of course. Shared this recipe with co-workers and as one co-worker said..."it was to die for fabulous!" Keeping it in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made this as given only added some lean ground beef and sliced Italian sausages. It was great! My husband and I both loved it. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was good but I thought it had too much Ricotta, made mine a little lumpy. I did like using the 3 different macaroni types, great way to get rid of what's left in the bottom of the box. I did also add alot more spices in the sauce. 4 star, will try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
If you love baked ziti, you will love this glorified version. You don't have to buy a premade tomatoe sauce. Since you cook the sauce with all of the vegetable/meat additions for an hour, you are basically "making" your own sauce, so why add more jarred sauce. Just throw in a 32 oz. can crushed tomatoes and 2 (yes 2) cans of paste and one paste can full of water and some seasonings of your choice and you will be very satisfied with the outcome. Makes a delicious tomato/vegetable sauce. I loved using the 3 different types of macaroni. You just have to add them to the boiling water at different times because some take longer to cook. Thanks for a nice take on baked ziti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I assume when you say "spaghetti sauce" you meant the premade jar type, which I never buy... so my sauce was a bit different, I used fresh parsley, basil, and oregano, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, and a lot more garlic, but other than that, I followed the recipe, and it was lovely. My husband complimented it twice and got seconds; that's the best I can hope for from any meal ;) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I tweaked this recipe only a tiny bit...we ADORE garlic, so a couple of extra cloves found their way in! Next time, however, I will probably cut the tomato paste in half...even after adding a touch of baking soda, we still felt the need to pop a couple of TUMS after dinner. Great base recipe, delicious on its own...while still leaving room for custom touches of your own (extra veggies, different cheeses). Next time, I might add some fresh basil, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Awesome! I had been looking for this recipe for years. Reminds me of what I used to get from Pizza Hut but they no longer sell it. Thanks for sharing ! No changes left as is. Awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
It was too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States