Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is so simple and so delicious and makes a great side dish. I did about a third of the recipe (1/2 lb. of pasta) and used a steam in bag of broccoli. I tossed everything together and topped it with parmesan cheese. It could have been a meal all in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by dixiechickbs
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was very good. I only gave it 4 stars because I did have to make several adjustments. Many of the other reviewers made similar comments. I used a good bit of salt (1/8 to 1/4 C.)in the water when boiling the pasta. I also added several cloves of garlic to the water for flavor. After boiling the pasta I saved about 2 cups of the water and used that to cook the broccoli. I quickly shocked the broccoli in ice water to keep it bright green. Put my drained broccoli and pasta into the pot together and added the cheese, oil and red pepper flakes. I did not add any additional salt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
For me, this worked in a pinch. I don't know that I would ever make it again though. I used it as a side dish to some pork ribs and therefore made less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Delicious! I stuck to the recipe exactly and even though I thought it would be bland, it was very, very good. I would add more broccoli next time, though. It was heavy on the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8K8VT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Yum--the flavors I grew up with! With no heavy sauces or seasonings, this is simple, fresh and just plain delicious. I didn't measure, just used "a little of this and a little of that" to suit my tastes. While I served this with roast chicken, I could have eaten this all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
GREAT RECIPE !! I CHANGED A BIT OF IT. WHILE WARMING GARLIC ADD A TOUCH OF RED PEPPER FLAKES. ALSO ADD A CAN OF CHICKEN BROTH. COMES OUT FANTASTIC !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Wow! My family loved this recipe. My husband could not get enough of it. I took other's advice and made sure I added lots of salt to the pasta water and then put some pasta water into the broccoli pan with the drained pasta and cooked a few minutes longer. Great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great flavor, with a little zip! I added the red pepper flakes to the oil when adding the garlic (rather than at the end), using only 1/2 tsp., and also added italian seasoning, basil, chicken seasoning, salt and pepper to the oil. I'll definately make it again! FYI - 1 1/2 c. dry pasta is about 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This came out good, very simple and easy. I did add some heavily salted water from the pasta as suggested and more olive oil at the end, the salt definitely helps perk things up. I will make it again when I'm in a quick pinch for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers about the lack of flavor and the need for salt. I've modified this recipe by using chicken broth instead. I also heavily season the broth with fresh garlic, crushed red pepper, and black pepper. Then I blanch the broccoli (I've also used broccoli rabe; it adds a whole new depth of flavor) in the broth, followed by cooking the cavatelli in the same broth... this seems to flavor each component nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States