Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was very good. I too used the pasta water trick and added the red pepper flakes in with the oil and garlic. I shocked my broccoli in ice water to maintain the vibrant green color. Nice clean simple flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was sooooooo good and super easy to make! My 2 1/2 year old absolutely loved it - the broccoli too! We have plenty of leftovers for school and work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cadigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
My Mom made this often growing up....she always added bacon...cook it first and then saute your garlic ...add blanched broccoli and mix in the cooked pasta let flavors combine....excellent combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
We liked it; tossed it with baked chicken. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is so simple and so delicious and makes a great side dish. I did about a third of the recipe (1/2 lb. of pasta) and used a steam in bag of broccoli. I tossed everything together and topped it with parmesan cheese. It could have been a meal all in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by dixiechickbs
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was very good. I only gave it 4 stars because I did have to make several adjustments. Many of the other reviewers made similar comments. I used a good bit of salt (1/8 to 1/4 C.)in the water when boiling the pasta. I also added several cloves of garlic to the water for flavor. After boiling the pasta I saved about 2 cups of the water and used that to cook the broccoli. I quickly shocked the broccoli in ice water to keep it bright green. Put my drained broccoli and pasta into the pot together and added the cheese, oil and red pepper flakes. I did not add any additional salt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
For me, this worked in a pinch. I don't know that I would ever make it again though. I used it as a side dish to some pork ribs and therefore made less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Delicious! I stuck to the recipe exactly and even though I thought it would be bland, it was very, very good. I would add more broccoli next time, though. It was heavy on the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8K8VT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Yum--the flavors I grew up with! With no heavy sauces or seasonings, this is simple, fresh and just plain delicious. I didn't measure, just used "a little of this and a little of that" to suit my tastes. While I served this with roast chicken, I could have eaten this all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
GREAT RECIPE !! I CHANGED A BIT OF IT. WHILE WARMING GARLIC ADD A TOUCH OF RED PEPPER FLAKES. ALSO ADD A CAN OF CHICKEN BROTH. COMES OUT FANTASTIC !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States