Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a keeper. Very Good. Although, I didn't add all the salt it called for. I only added 1/2 tsp. and I also used Perorino Romano instead of Parmesan. End result: Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I thought it was good. I added extra garlic, black olives and green onion during the broccoli saute to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I agree with most... I use extra salt in the water when cooking the cavatelli (I use a large palm full) which will give the dish flavor. I cook the pepper flakes in with the garlic and oil to infuse the flavor into the oil. I also add extra parmesan because we love it that way! Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great recipe, pretty much right off the back of the Celantano cavatelli bag! Except they called for only 12 oz. of cavatelli and 2 bunches of broccoli, but I would say that Linda probably has it right - with more pasta and broccoli, it would be a little less oily, which was my only complaint about Celantano's recipe. I also think it would be good with a little pasta water thrown in to diffuse the oil. Salt is key, don't skimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
YUM!!! USED DREAMFIELDS ROTINI- ADDED 1/4 OF CUP OF SALT TO PASTA WATER AS SUGGESTED BY OTHERS... ADDED FROZEN TURKEY MEATBALLS FOR COMPLETE MEAL... VERY HEALTHY, VERY YUMMY!! VERY SIMPLE AND LITE.. TRY IT- YOU'LL LIKE IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
If you make this as written you will be disappointed as it will essentially be plain pasta with broccoli and garlic. Definitely follow the advice of others and heavily salt your pasta water and add a ladelful or 2 to the mix when combining the broccoli and pasta. A pat of butter adds a little richness, definitely use more parmesan too! With the changes you'll have a nice quick and easy weeknight pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I have been making this recipe for YEARS and came back to print it out again for my recipe box. The only thing I have added/changed is that I cook some italian sweet sausage up, slice it, and throw it into the mix. This is my family's favorite recipe, and we have it at least twice a month. My kids request that I make extra so they can bring it in for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Too bland even after I added more salt than the recipe to my pasta water & to season afterwards. It needs something else to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Actually made this with Gnocci and was really nice. I love brocolli in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I thought this was excellent! I used whole grain pasta to make it healthier, added a little bit more crushed red pepper and parmesan, and also a little bit of seasoning salt. I will definately be making this again and again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States