Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very good. My husband loved it, and he usually is pretty picky! :) I thought the red pepper was a bit spicy, and would probably sprinkle it on at the end on individual servings instead of in the whole pot. (Just because I don't like spicy foods.) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is a wonderful dish! After boiling, remove the broccoli from the water and use this water to boil your pasta in. This way you get some of the vitamins you lost in the boiling process of the brocolli infused into the pasta. I also added basil to my recipe and used grated Romano cheese instead of Parmesan. Wonderful! Next time, I'm going to try adding the red pepper and more salt to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a keeper. Very Good. Although, I didn't add all the salt it called for. I only added 1/2 tsp. and I also used Perorino Romano instead of Parmesan. End result: Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I thought it was good. I added extra garlic, black olives and green onion during the broccoli saute to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I agree with most... I use extra salt in the water when cooking the cavatelli (I use a large palm full) which will give the dish flavor. I cook the pepper flakes in with the garlic and oil to infuse the flavor into the oil. I also add extra parmesan because we love it that way! Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great recipe, pretty much right off the back of the Celantano cavatelli bag! Except they called for only 12 oz. of cavatelli and 2 bunches of broccoli, but I would say that Linda probably has it right - with more pasta and broccoli, it would be a little less oily, which was my only complaint about Celantano's recipe. I also think it would be good with a little pasta water thrown in to diffuse the oil. Salt is key, don't skimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
YUM!!! USED DREAMFIELDS ROTINI- ADDED 1/4 OF CUP OF SALT TO PASTA WATER AS SUGGESTED BY OTHERS... ADDED FROZEN TURKEY MEATBALLS FOR COMPLETE MEAL... VERY HEALTHY, VERY YUMMY!! VERY SIMPLE AND LITE.. TRY IT- YOU'LL LIKE IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
If you make this as written you will be disappointed as it will essentially be plain pasta with broccoli and garlic. Definitely follow the advice of others and heavily salt your pasta water and add a ladelful or 2 to the mix when combining the broccoli and pasta. A pat of butter adds a little richness, definitely use more parmesan too! With the changes you'll have a nice quick and easy weeknight pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I have been making this recipe for YEARS and came back to print it out again for my recipe box. The only thing I have added/changed is that I cook some italian sweet sausage up, slice it, and throw it into the mix. This is my family's favorite recipe, and we have it at least twice a month. My kids request that I make extra so they can bring it in for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Too bland even after I added more salt than the recipe to my pasta water & to season afterwards. It needs something else to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States