Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was a quick and easy side dish to serve along any meat. Not loaded with flavor but a nice way to have your pasta and vegetable all in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Here's wha6t I did, cobbling together from the other comments... Bring chicken stock (about 2 qts) and about 1/4 cup of salt to a boil to blanch your broccoli. Get it to a boil, then submerge the broccoli for 2 minutes AT MOST. Remove it and shock it in cold/ice water. I usually separately cook a package of frozen chopped broccoli (cooked just enough that its not a brick anymore) to add to the mix later. DON'T DISCARD the water. Set the broccoli aside. Put 1 lb (2 if you're adventurous) of frozen cavatelli in the broccoli water. Bring to a boil, then boil for about 5-7 minutes (don't cook it till its floppy. It'll continue to cook while you prep the rest of the meal) Set aside. Heat 1/4 cup of olive oil in a frying pan. Add to that 3 (hugely heaping) T of minced garlic. Also add 1/4 to 1/2 C of chopped red onion. Sautee over low heat for maybe two minutes, then add the broccoli (and the previously frozen stuff) and sautee for another 4 minutes. Add 1 cup of the broccoli water (do this earlier if the broccoli or garlic is burning) and sautee. Sautee for 4 or 5 minutes. Add the pepper flakes. Or don't. It's already good by itself. Right before serving, add the parmesian cheese and toss. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I simplified the cooking process on this one. I just boiled the broccoli, drained, and then added minced bottled garlic and about 1 tablespoon of salt along with the olive oil. I let this mixture sit while I boiled the pasta. I think it is important to season the broccoli prior to mixing with the pasta, otherwise you end up with a bland combo. Also a key part in boiling any pasta is adding salt to the water in order to compliment the true flavor of the pasta. Next time I may add some sweet Italian sausage or sauted chicken along with the broccoli into to serve as more of a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was a hit at my house. I read the remarks about putting the pasta water in the broccoi at the end so that the pasta could absorb some of the flavors. I was worried about this making the broccoli too mushy; not appealing at our house. I ended up cooing the broccoli in a big pot of salted water, removing the broccoli into the pan and cooking the pasta in the same salted water while the broccoli was sauteing. Worked for me and I wasted less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Delicious and simple without the heavy cream or butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is fantastic even when it gets cold. No re-heating needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Simple flavors, easy preparation. I didn't really bother sticking with exact measurements on this one, just eyeballed everything and I really loved the end results. The flavors are classic and a great change from the typical pasta drowning in heavy red or white sauces. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I really enjoyed this! The kids didn't much like it but thebroccoli tasted phenomenal, I think the blanching realy helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have been making this for years... to make it even simplier-blanch the broccoli in salted water and remove with a slotted spoon-then cook your pasta in the same water. Adds more taste to the pasta and eliminates the need to start a whole new pot of boiling water. Always remember to use enough salt and add some pasta water to the broccoli mixture with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My Mother made this when I was growing up. The only difference is she made it with spaghetti not cavatelli and she used wayyyy more parmasan cheese. I make for my children today and love it. Comfort food at its best !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States