Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Not only was this delicious, but a very FAST dish as well. It only took me about 35 minutes start to finish. I sauteed the garlic with the red pepper flakes as others suggested to make it more flavorful. What a great way to eat your broccoli. I will definitely be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Good, simple recipe. My guests & i enjoyed this. Would make this again. The only thing i didn't do from the recipe is boiled the water (for blanching and pasta) with lots of salt. Something i just am of habbit of doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I agree with majority.. Bland... secret is salt. This is an old Italian dish called Aglio e Olio. This was what they made when pantry was bare and on Fridays when Catholics couldn't eat meat. My Italians friends told me you have to add at least 1/4 cup of salt in pasta water to infuse it into pasta.. and believe me you would never know that's how much you put in but the flavor will be there and most of that is going done the drain with our water. Other than that it was tasty. I decreased the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp and put in with garlic and oil to get the full effect of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
An easy recipe but, as others have said, a bit on the bland side. I did add a bit of chicken stock to 'juice' it up a bit. Not the best, but certainly not the worst. The starchy cavatelli is a comfort food for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This IS sort of bland, but I cooked the pasta in chicken broth and added the broccoli to that the last few minutes, then added the garlic and sauteed the whole concoction before adding Romano Parmesan and red pepper. For some reason, I could not stop eating this, so-- bland or not, I thought it was pretty good!! The cheese and red pepper really add something. Plus it is sooooo simple...I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Really good. My husband loved it and so did I. Will make this one often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This was a good recipe. I added sauted onions and only used a small amount of the red pepper seeds. I also didn't have any fresh broccoli so i used frozen. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Bland, bland, bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Made this as a side dish for an Italian themed party. It was fantastic. Tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASJAZMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I've made this a few times, and last night made it for my Italian in-laws (mind you, I'm not Italian!) My mother-in-law asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

This easy, delicious vegetable side dish goes with practically anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States