Cavatelli, Broccoli and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Made this last night, it was very good. My kids like things like butter noodles and other bland tasting dishes. I was out of mushrooms but went for it anyway and they were very happy although, I did add onion with my garlic and a pinch of garlic salt (we're big garlic fans and I didn't have three cloves). We all liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Made as a side dish. Used 8oz fresh mushrooms. Good flavor. For future I would use less pasta. I forgot to cover and it got a bit too dry. Just made again and covered. Changed rating from 4 to 5 - very good and moist. Used 8oz tri-color rotini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This was an excellent, tasty meal. My husband and I both enjoyed it. I used a tablespoon of minced garlic, and it just came out wonderful. I will definitely add it to my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
My cousin gave me this recipe to try, and my husband and I LOVED it!! Not exactly a "heart healthy" dish, but I'm thinking of substituting some or all of the butter for olive oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Very simple to make and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugaSuga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
My kids (3 of them, under 6 years old) loved this!! I didn't have any mushrooms (they love mushrooms), so I added baby carrots with the broccoli instead. Really good family dinner. Everybody cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Mild flavor, substituted olive oil for butter. Still trying to play with recipe to add a spice or two but can't find anything that wouldn't upset the balance. Great on reheats or as cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lu
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was one of the best side dishes I've made from Allrecipes. I love broccoli and mushrooms and struggle with ways to make them creative and new. The result was amazingly delicious. My only changes were using a vegetable corkscrew pasta instead of cavatelli, which created a colorful palatte. And I used fresh mushrooms. It was sooo good. I did add a bit of salt and pepper as well, but I thought it had great flavor; not bland at all. I can't wait until lunch tomorrow to have more and to schedule a dinner party so I can show it off! Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Like another reviewer stated, I absolutely LOVE the idea and flavor of broccoli and mushrooms! I LOVED this recipe, though I will be experimenting with it... I think it is very versatile. I had Rigatoni pasta in the house, and any good pasta like that will do, but the Cavatelli pasta is excellent. I used fresh mushroom, a whole package. I cut back on the butter to 2 Tablespoons and used minute amounts of oil as needed, everything sauteed nicely and came together nicely. I used fresh Parmesan. I did add some pepper, but since Parmasan already is salty, and we are cutting back on salt for health purposes, I did not add salt. I hope to play around with some more... I think it is wonderfully flavorful and HEALTHY!!! Karen, thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!! A+ all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Tastes almost EXACTLY like a dish we served at an Italian restaurant I used to work at. I used penne instead of cavatelli and found that I didn't need to put it in the oven, but otherwise, followed the recipe. My four year old is LOVING it as is my friend's six year old daughter. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States