Cavatelli, Broccoli and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is pretty bland; however, here is what I did to improve on it... Added: 1/2 diced yellow onion 1 diced red pepper and I used EVOO instead of the butter. On a second version I used the above ingredient changes and then used whole wheat pasta. Thinking about adding steamed sliced carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Damone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Simple and just plain delicious! I usually have this as a side dish, but tonight I need something quick and this was perfect for a "meatless" weeknight meal. I used a steam in bag of broccoli and sauteed some fresh portabella mushrooms in a little olive oil along with the garlic. I didn't bother baking this, but just tossed everything together with a little olive oil, a bit of salt and cracked black pepper then topped it with some shredded Parmesan and Romano cheese - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Good recipe, Karen. I added a bit of onion to the mushroom saute, (used fresh shrooms)more garlic and just a touch of Italian seasoning. Topped with a little fresh basil and parm. I would definitely eat this again, and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Made this tonight and thought it was great. I made a few minor tweaks - used cavatappi noodles, added extra garlic, a splash of Worcestershire sauce, and some leftover frozen shrimp I had. It would have been just as good without the shrimp. Also topped it off with a couple of handfuls of mozzarella before baking. After tasting the final outcome, I think this would also be good with portabellas and/or a pesto sauce mixed in. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
We have a similar recipe at a local restaurant that is very popular with patrons. Based on other's recommendations, I jazzed it up. I used EVOO and butter (the butter is the taste it needs), and added a dash of kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. What an easy side dish to grilled pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lu
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was one of the best side dishes I've made from Allrecipes. I love broccoli and mushrooms and struggle with ways to make them creative and new. The result was amazingly delicious. My only changes were using a vegetable corkscrew pasta instead of cavatelli, which created a colorful palatte. And I used fresh mushrooms. It was sooo good. I did add a bit of salt and pepper as well, but I thought it had great flavor; not bland at all. I can't wait until lunch tomorrow to have more and to schedule a dinner party so I can show it off! Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This was a great dinner, didn't have a lot of flavor. I used 1/4 c. olive oil instead of butter, maybe that's why. I was trying to make it less fat. I used a parm and romano mix. I will make it again and play around with the flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
My cousin gave me this recipe to try, and my husband and I LOVED it!! Not exactly a "heart healthy" dish, but I'm thinking of substituting some or all of the butter for olive oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is a delicious dinner and is easy to make! I spiced it up a little with some crushed red pepper flakes and various seasonings. We also tried it by adding pesto to it, but I like it better without. You could use less butter, about 1/2 as much is enough. I added extra parmesan cheese and topped it with mozzarella before baking. I will definitely make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Made this last night, it was very good. My kids like things like butter noodles and other bland tasting dishes. I was out of mushrooms but went for it anyway and they were very happy although, I did add onion with my garlic and a pinch of garlic salt (we're big garlic fans and I didn't have three cloves). We all liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States