Cavatelli, Broccoli and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I wouldn't suggest microwaving to cook any foods. Just not a healthy way of cooking. If you steam the broccoli for 2 mintues that'll do it! Other than that this receipe was very bland so I had to kick up knotches with fresh basil and chopped roman tomatoes, portabello mushrooms and pecorino romano and fontina cheese! Most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Like another reviewer stated, I absolutely LOVE the idea and flavor of broccoli and mushrooms! I LOVED this recipe, though I will be experimenting with it... I think it is very versatile. I had Rigatoni pasta in the house, and any good pasta like that will do, but the Cavatelli pasta is excellent. I used fresh mushroom, a whole package. I cut back on the butter to 2 Tablespoons and used minute amounts of oil as needed, everything sauteed nicely and came together nicely. I used fresh Parmesan. I did add some pepper, but since Parmasan already is salty, and we are cutting back on salt for health purposes, I did not add salt. I hope to play around with some more... I think it is wonderfully flavorful and HEALTHY!!! Karen, thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!! A+ all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yes, this is Cavatappi pasta in the picture. NOT Cavatelli. Pasta can really "bland" the flavor of the dish, it's individual preference. Add more garlic, EVOO, parmesean cheese or herbs of choice, and sometimes it's going to take a lot more to get the flavor/consistency you like in a pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Good and easy! Best eaten fresh - was kind of dried out when we ate it again the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
A bit bland, but it has potential. In addition to some of the ideas provided, I would double the mushrooms, use most of an onion, and more parmesan. Mozzarella cheese on top added a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lu
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was one of the best side dishes I've made from Allrecipes. I love broccoli and mushrooms and struggle with ways to make them creative and new. The result was amazingly delicious. My only changes were using a vegetable corkscrew pasta instead of cavatelli, which created a colorful palatte. And I used fresh mushrooms. It was sooo good. I did add a bit of salt and pepper as well, but I thought it had great flavor; not bland at all. I can't wait until lunch tomorrow to have more and to schedule a dinner party so I can show it off! Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
We have a similar recipe at a local restaurant that is very popular with patrons. Based on other's recommendations, I jazzed it up. I used EVOO and butter (the butter is the taste it needs), and added a dash of kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. What an easy side dish to grilled pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I used evoo in lieu of the butter and much more garlic than called for. Quick, easy and good. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is pretty bland; however, here is what I did to improve on it... Added: 1/2 diced yellow onion 1 diced red pepper and I used EVOO instead of the butter. On a second version I used the above ingredient changes and then used whole wheat pasta. Thinking about adding steamed sliced carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Damone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Mild flavor, substituted olive oil for butter. Still trying to play with recipe to add a spice or two but can't find anything that wouldn't upset the balance. Great on reheats or as cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States