Cauliflower and White Cheddar Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
My heads were really big, so I doubled everything but the cream. I wanted a chunkier soup, so I just mashed the tender cauliflower with a potato masher for thicker bits instead of running it in the blender. When sauteeing the garlic and onion, I threw in two chopped red peppers that were about to go south I used heavy cream instead of milk and SLJ6 was right on about the thyme. I did add a bit of red pepper flake after trying it. Very good soup. This will be quite nice to eat on all week. Makes a lot so make sure you really like this or you have family that loves soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
A lot of bother, not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
just an idea, velveeta in place of cheddar...mmmmm. also, if you want, try using a powdered onion soup mix(one w/out beef fat) + water. i'm not crazy about veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Oh my! This is amazing.. Double the butter and triple the Garlic! I used Mont Jack Cheese instead. Plus i did 1 cup milk 1/2 a cup light cream. And this is to DIE FOR! My girlfriend was completely IMPRESSED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murray
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I really liked this soup. I used heavy cream instead of milk to make it a little creamier. I thought it was good with vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is a recipe that begs for innovation. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable. I also added a diced hot pepper. After adding the cheese I tasted and added a 1/4 stick of butter, white pepper and a generous amount of cayenne pepper too. This really spiced it up and made it yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribeth32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafferty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
A gorgeous recipe. I'm sharing my changes for the frugal chef in a hurry! In place of fresh cauliflower, I used a similar amount of leftover vegetables (mostly cauliflower & broccoli, and a few carrots). Lefover cooked potatoes, homemade chicken stock (instead of vegetable broth), an extra pinch of nutmeg, and white pepper instead of black. This soup vanished quickly, and immediately made my favourites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This was a good recipe but I added a little bit of wine into it to add a bit more oomph. It reheated well, too. My daughter didn't like it, but she is only 4 and doesn't like anything too weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This wasn't bad but it was more watery than I expected, less creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was a great soup would make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Find out how to make the soup from your favorite cafe right in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States