Cauliflower and Tofu Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
At 45 minutes, it was tough and too chewy. I must assume that this is an attempt to make more "meat-like." Next time, I might just sautée it for 10 minutes. Otherwise, the dish had tremendous flavor, but there is a lot of prep (-1 star). Consider mincing your ginger, garlic and serranos in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Restaurant quality. I didn't have fresh peppers, so I sauteed an entire diced onion instead and then added diced pickled jalapenos (equivalent to one whole) along with the tomato sauce and cauliflower. I also omitted peas. Use the biggest pan you have. This makes a lot. Went well with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Amazing as is on recipe . Took about 1.5 hours to prep because I didn't cook the tofu in parallel with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was absolutely delish! As someone else suggested, I used only 1 serrano pepper, as I don't like much heat. Also, we served it on top of couscous. My boys had theirs on top of baked chicken. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Absolutely perfect. My boyfriend and I are not tofu eaters, and I have been looking for good recipes that use tofu. This one is fab! Definitely accessible for those who are on the fence about tofu. This dish is creamy and oh so tasty. Make this!! It is incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
We really liked this. I followed the directions exactly, and we served it over rice. Word of warning, this has a decent amount of heat in it, if you're not a person who likes spicy (we LOVE spicy), cut back on the cayenne and the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
When I told my husband I was making this he brought home pizza as a "back up". We both LOVED this recipe. The spices blend perfectly together. The only changes I made is I doubled the tomato sauce and spices for the last sauce. I didn't really like the hardness of the tofu so next time I will bake it for half the time. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was my first attempt at an Indian recipe and it turned out great! Pretty easy too. Based on other reviews I didn't add all the peppers but next time I will, I tend to like a bit more kick in my Indian dishes. I will definitely make it again. Serves more than 4 but I also served it with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was great! If you like spicy food, use the three serranos. I was cautious with two and wished it was a tad spicier. I also didn't use the full two cups of half and half and it had plenty of sauce. The sauce is so good I wanted to lick my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Like others, I used a cup of milk instead of the half and half, and it was a perfect consistency. I also omitted the garam masala and only used one pepper, and it was still spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States