Cauliflower and Tofu Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I am lactose intolerant and sour cream is a serious no - no for me, and I am able to get lactaid milk rather, I do it my way. Without sour cream, but with 2% Lactaid milk. All else I keep somewhat thee same. Great recipe, great dish! Only reason it did not get five, was the changes I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dougirv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good! It's surprisingly spicy, considering how little hot stuff is in it, but that's just the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This dish was phenomenal!!! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. It would even be great over rice. This recipe deserves all 5 stars. I'm annoyed by reading reviews that alter a recipe and then knock down the rating because of the changes. Thanks for sharing this fabulous dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Wonderful recipe! We cut down just a little on spices, because, although we like spicy foods, the food gets lost on hot spicy. With the small changes we made, this was absolutely wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love, love, loved this dish. I served it to my brother who hates Indian food, and even he liked it. The only changes I made: omitted coriander because I hate coriander, subbed jalapeno for serranos. I used non fat Greek yogurt for the tofu mixture. I did find the tofu stuck to the pan when baked. I will grease the pan more next time... and there will definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I felt like I was at an Indian restaurant. I did not have all of the spices, so I did without the coriander and cilantro. This is a spicy recipe, so if you like things mild, you should probably cut out the cayenne completely and maybe reduce the serrano. I served with homemade naan from this site and got rave reviews from my friends. Also, as you may have guessed, this makes way more than 4 servings for the average person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My family likes spicy food however, I tested the first serrano I cut open and decided to use just one (instead of 3). It was the perfect amount of heat---any more and it would have overpowered the rest of the spices. The word that kept coming to mind when eating this was "depth" of flavor. Whole family loved it. Served over jasmine rice. The 4 of us polished it off. Btw, I subbed skim evap. milk for the half & half and didn't feel it needed all 2 cups. Probably only used a cup. Will do the same again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
So very good. I used fat free greek yogurt and fat free half & half instead to make it a bit more healthy. (Don't like peas and didn't have tomato sauce - so left out these ingredients making it more yellow curry and less Masala perhaps) The tofu was the best I have ever made it really tasted like the cheese you find in many Indian dishes. Though I adjusted it a bit - loved this recipe. (My husband asked me to please make it again - it was a big hit) Next time I might add some onions as well. We like spicy so this recipe was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was delicious. The only thing I changed was that after reading the reviews I decided to start with one pepper which ended up being perfect for our tastes. I also left out the garlic due to a food insensitivity. I loved this and am looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I can tell it was highly inspired from the Tikka Masala recipe on this site (even tasted mostly the same), but improved upon. I only used one serrano pepper, since I'm pretty spice sensitive, and I think that worked out perfectly. I also doubled the yougart sauce- I've learned when in doubt, double the sauce! Be sure to tin-foil your baking sheet to save on the clean up! I used non fat greek yougart - I think it not being as watery as regular helped the cooking time, as I only had mine in the oven for 40 minutes before it was done and all the sauce was thickened and clinging to the tofu chunks nicely. I took a tip from another reviewer and used 2% evaporated milk instead of half and half to cut down on the fat (1 12oz can). If you don't like your cauliflower to crunch and would really like the flavors to get into it, take your time in softening it. I kept adding water to the tomato sauce as they cooked together to give it plenty of time to soften up and soak in the flavors. Better to simmer it as much as you can BEFORE you add the cream/half and half/ect. Served with a little jasmine basmati with more cilantro for garnish. I don't think the flavor is quite enough to be able to mix in much rice, next time I'll serve with naan bread instead! Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States