Cauliflower and Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I doubled the sauce as others suggested and added a few extra shots of the tabasco. I served it at Easter and it dissappeared! People told me they loved it. However....I personally found it had a strange after taste that made it less appetizing to me. Maybe it was the eggs. I liked the vegtable combination and the buttery cracker topping complimented the dish. Very creamy. Not sure if I would make it again, though, due to the unpleasant after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I just used a packet of hollandaise sauce for this recipe, and it came out good on the cauliflower, but I did not like the sauce with the carrots. Not a good combination. Other than that the recipe is a good one. I'm always looking for something new to do with cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
i followed the directions exactly. GROSS!!! i LOVE all sorts of vegetables but this had NO SAUCE or flavor. It kind of tasted like a cauliflower omlette. Will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Doubled the sauce as suggested by another reviewer. Otherwise there would have been no sauce at all. We didn't find it very zippy, but we're Texans and, admittedly like things to be extra zippy. The dish simply wasn't to our liking at all. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Fantastic! I took the suggestions in previous reviews and doubled the sauce. It was rich and creamy and really complimented our Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by decostef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Because of the eggs in the hollandaise sauce, when baked, it becomes souffle-like, there really isn't much "sauce". If you don't have much "sauce" after baking, either reduce the veggies or increase the sauce. Reducing cooking time also may help. I double the sauce and use a 1.5 qt casserole dish. If you didn't like my dish before, please try it again using my suggestions. Please do not substitute the vegetables and then give my recipe a bad review, that is comparing apples to oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This recipe has become a family staple. I steam the carrots and cauliflower and then pour a prepackaged béchamel or hollandaise sauce onto the veggies in an oven dish. I sprinkle the top with crushed crackers and/or bread crumbs. No butter, no salt. it comes out superb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
tasty. Even my picky husband liked the hot sauce kick. I added more than your recipe and it was great!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tahoe, California, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Please review the recipe, especially the liquids involved. I followed the published precisely, and there was virtually no sauce to be found. An earlier comment about doubling the sauce portion seems to be needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This one is good, not great. It was a nice change from some of the same old veggie side dishes I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States