Cauliflower and Broccoli Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I cut back on the amount of milk after reading the reviews. I also didn't add the additional cheese the last 10 minutes of baking. I felt there was enough cheese with the sauce. This was wonderful! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
In another recipe book, there is a white sauce/cheese recipe that calls for at most 1/2 this quantity of milk. This dish ended up being very watery, and we had to add two times the amount of cheese to even begin to make the dish respectable. I would definitely stick with the other recipe that I have in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was a big success! I didn't actually measure anything. We were out of Cayenne Pepper so I used Paprika. I also added about a cup of diced, cooked left-over chicken. I used Extra Aged White Cheddar Cheese. I also sprinkled some bread crumbs and Parmesan Cheese over the top, and only baked it for about 30 minutes. A DEFINITE keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This cheese sauce mixes up much better in the microwave than on the stove and be sure to use old cheddar for maximum flavour. Amount of milk you add determines how thin or thick your sauce is and skim mixes just as well as cream or homo milk. Melt the butter then wisk in the flour and add milk. Cook on high for about 3-4 minutes, stirring every minute. Add the cheese and heat again for 1-2 minutes until the cheese melts into the white sauce. No lumps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I'd say, use less milk! I ended up using about 3/4 cup. I also added red pepper and yellow pepper and I steamed all four veggies together (more nutritious than boiling). I used salt, pepper and LOTS of Italian seasoning to season the dish. I cut up two chicken breasts and mixed together all the veggies, the chicken and the cheese sauce altogether. Then, I layered sliced tomatoes on top and sprinkled it with cheese. A main dish for us. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I used 1 1/2cup of milk and just used broccoli. It was great, I loved the thick cheesy sauce. You can also just use regular mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Sauce was very watery, but the flavor is good. Next time I might add some stuffing mix or cornbread mix to absorb the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is great. I would add more vegetables because it seems like a lot of sauce for not a lot of veggies. But it tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I thought this was fine. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk, which took care of the thinness issue, and upped the cayenne (3/4 tsp). Overall I thought the combination was nice and spicy. However, I'm not usually a big fan of vegetables smothered in cheese (I just happened to have the ingredients this time), so I doubt I'll be making this or a similar dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
The sauce was not as thick as expected-was good but would somehow like it thicker and less watery. My own made up version is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States