Cauliflower and Broccoli Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I did not like this recipe. Mine had no taste except when you got some of the cheese that was sprinkled on top. It was mushy and runny. I like my veggies crisper I guess. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Martin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Not my fav. First of all, this required too much toying around with the sauce to get it to the proper consistency – thanks to previous reviewers for the head’s up on that. Second, it didn’t make sense to me to cook the broccoli and cauliflower, and then bake it for another 30 minutes? I found it best to just cook the vegetables until crisp-tender, and then pour the sauce over them just before serving, skipping the baking step. It was ok and edible, but not what I had envisioned to begin with. To be honest, I much prefer our occasional indulgence of broccoli and/or cauliflower topped with a cheese sauce made of some nuked Velveeta and a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I read through the reviews before I made this and I'm glad I did. I used a little over half of the milk called for in this recipe. I agree with other reviewers that if I hadn't cut back on the milk, it would have been a a really thin cheese sauce. I think when I make this next time, I'll skip the baking step. It seems unnecessary and it really makes for overcooked vegetables. The kids loved it, but my husband and I didn't care for mushy vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicouse, and a great way to use up broccoli and cauliflower
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
The vegetables are pretty much done after 10 min. of steaming, so another 30 min at 425 and they are mush. I skip the entire oven part and just basically have the veggies with cheese sauce, which is very tasty btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used less milk as well and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
i am forever trying to work new vegetables in to our meals, and this recipe did the trick for cauliflower! the sauce was perfect with the modifications suggested by other reviews (~1/2C less milk). i didn't have any english mustard, and the outcome didn't seem to suffer. i will definitely be making this again, maybe trying it with other veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We make this quite often and love it, we like to top with crispy onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lake Tahoe, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carson Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This recipe is excellent! Only thing is you have to do is adjust the amount of milk as it is too watery as is. I used about half of what was called for. My b/f who loves cheese over veggies can't get enough. Good recipe for people who don't like veggies to get a good filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bray2529

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great recipe, does need less milk I think. I added one cup, which was superb. Also, seemed to need more vegetables. I'd probably almost doubt the vegetable next time, as they were really swimming in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States