Cauliflower and Broccoli Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
The sauce was not as thick as expected-was good but would somehow like it thicker and less watery. My own made up version is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
In another recipe book, there is a white sauce/cheese recipe that calls for at most 1/2 this quantity of milk. This dish ended up being very watery, and we had to add two times the amount of cheese to even begin to make the dish respectable. I would definitely stick with the other recipe that I have in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Sauce was very watery, but the flavor is good. Next time I might add some stuffing mix or cornbread mix to absorb the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I thought this was fine. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk, which took care of the thinness issue, and upped the cayenne (3/4 tsp). Overall I thought the combination was nice and spicy. However, I'm not usually a big fan of vegetables smothered in cheese (I just happened to have the ingredients this time), so I doubt I'll be making this or a similar dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I cut back on the amount of milk after reading the reviews. I also didn't add the additional cheese the last 10 minutes of baking. I felt there was enough cheese with the sauce. This was wonderful! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Pretty easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was very good, but I did change around the proportions a lot. I used nearly three times the amount of vegetables(32 ounces) and half the cheese sauce. I thickened the cheese sauce with cornstarch instead of flour just because I like to work with cornstarch more as a thickening agent. I used a reduced fat mexican cheese and instead of starting the sauce with butter, I added butter buds seasoning to the sauce. It tasted very good and will be made again with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
AWESOME!!!! WE amke this recipe for EVERY get together and double it. There is NEVER anything left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Good flavor, but too watery. More like a gravy. Next time I would use less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This was really good. I did not have all the ingredients on hand, so I had to make a few changes....I think with the changes that I made is what ended up saving this recipe in the end. I used evaporated milk, and then added a little chicken broth as the evaporated milk made it pretty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States