Cauliflower With a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
One of our favorite restaurants in Naples,FL, serves a side dish called "Cauliflower Arugula Smash" and I always look forward to it. What confused me about it, however, is that it was nice and thick, unlike when I tried to make mashed cauliflower at home (what low-carbers love to do to substitute for mashed potates). So I asked the server about it, telling him there just had to be something in there besides cauliflower! Sure enough, he reluctantly admitted that there was also parsnips in there! So I was happy to find and try this recipe and review it in an effort to entice others to try it, since I am its first reviewer. It is just simply delicious! I covered the cauliflower and parsnips in water in a saucepan, added some fresh, minced garlic, brought it to a boil, them simmered it until it was very tender. I drained it very well, then put the pan back on the burner briefly just to dry it out. I didn't add the milk, as it would have have ruined this by taking away it's substance--it needs to be good and dry, and only butter added (although a little bit of cream cheese would be good too!) Finally, capitalizing on the restaurant's dish I love so much, I wilted some fresh arugula in a little olive oil and mixed it in at the last. Perfect! And for some reason even better than the restaurant's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is one of my favorite low-carb recipes to use in place of mashed potatoes. Instead of milk, I use half-n-half or heavy cream. My family really likes this, especially my husband who claims to HATE cauliflower. NOTE: If you add this recipe to a small saucepan and add in a cup or so of organic chicken broth, you have a quick faux-potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I loved this dish!! I followed another review and added garlic to the pot of water when cooking the veggies. Did add about 2 tablespoons of sour cream to the mixture and made sur to beat well with the electric mixture - what a treat!! I teach cooking classes at a local grocery store and I plan to use this recipe in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I may not have steamed the vegetables long enough. I usually like them tender crisp, but they really seem to need to be more cooked to get them to whip properly. I omitted the liquid because that would have made them even less like the texture shown in the photo, but I added a good size knob of butter and then 2 tbs of 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Next time I will probably add another parsnip. I served with a nice twist of coarsely ground black pepper and we all enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I thought they were pretty good. The main bit of feedback I got is that people were expecting more of a "Kick". I'll definitely try to bring the seasoning up a notch for the next time I make them. Integrating parsnips was a fun thing though ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very delicious - almost too good to be true! We added 4 baby yellow squash and 2 parsnips in addition to the head of califlower which added great flavor. We also substituted plain, fat free Greek yogurt instead of milk and butter. Just add some salt, pepper, and parsley flakes for a delicious side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We LOVED this dish! What a surprise --- and much nicer on the waist-line than potatoes! We love mashed garlic potatoes, so I followed another reviewer's tip, and added garlic powder while I was mixing with a electric hand-mixer. I think it would be great with or without the garlic, but since I don't do milk, I skipped it, but added twice as much butter & mixed 'til creamy. Will definitely make this again --- Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This recipe is great!!! I love parsnips & cauliflower. I made them for my boyfriend who dislikes parsnips & he didn't even know what was in it & thought it was great. ONLY thing I added to this recipe was garlic! made once with crushed garlic & a second time with roasted garlic! Both were great!! Definitely worth a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Made just as written...even the cauliflower haters ate it! Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I added 4 cloves of garlic on top of the cauliflower and parsnip while it was steaming and I added 2 healthy tablespoons of fat free sour cream and only used 1 TBSP of butter. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States