Cauliflower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I just do not care for this recipe it all although I'm a big fan of cauliflower. It's not filling; there's not much flavor. I tried adding cayenne and topped it with parmesean, but still, nothing. I do not like the texture of the mashed cauliflower floating in the broth. Perhaps if I would've left the chunks it may have felt more like a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Wow-loved this low fat, tasty soup. Cooked cauliflower in a water/bullion mix. Smashed with a potato smasher and added a celery and garlic saute from another pan. Added pepper, dill and kale- because I had it prepared -and cooked through for 15 minutes. Fabulous texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Once when I did not have cauliflower, I made the soup with broccoli instead. AMAZING!!!! so is the cauliflower one. I also like to shred my carrots for a nice texture. Another time when I was making it( I have made it 4 times!!!)I put in waaaaaayyy to much pepper because my hand slipped. It tasted great! the pepper gave it a nice spice. All in all, I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!! U SHOULD TOO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I sautéed mushrooms with the celery, onions and carrots. Following other reviewers I also used one and one half teaspoons of curry and a teaspoon of garlic salt. Then I added a few shakes of dried red pepper flakes. I used a hand blender to blend about half of the soup to make it creamy but left it quite chunky. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
love it as a lunch staple and it gets rid of fridge leftovers (throw in carrots, peppers, onions, whatever!). I don't precook any of the veggies, just put in a pot on low, or slow cooker. I have a hand blender that I use when veggies are soft, blend right in the pot for a few seconds - leaving it somewhat chunky. A cup of milk helps to thicken a bit. Have tried with small cut ham steaks as well, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a delicious, lower carb soup. I wanted to kick off my week with a meal that made it easy to stay on track, and this fit the bill! To start, I doubled the veggies as the other reviewers suggested. Then I seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder as they cooked. I also threw in a few dashes of curry powder. Then I added some broken up, homemade chicken sausage patties that I had also seasoned with a bit of curry. This made an aromatic base to add both mashed and whole cauliflower to. It's delightful and despite carrot and onion being higher in carbs than some other veggies- it's way lower than the chicken rice soup I normally make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Only gave this four stars as written, but would give it five after my modifications. Here goes: Sauteed the vegetables in coconut oil instead of olive. Everything tastes better in coconut oil. Chopped the cauliflower in smaller pieces so no need to mash when steamed. Also added some cooked white rice in the soup at the end to give it a little more bulk. Seasoned with a little ground Himalayan pink sea salt to taste. Added grated parmesan cheese on top. Can't wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe, it had simple ingredients and I used chicken bullion cubes for the broth. I followed the recipe and made it in my immulsifier, added ground pepper and it was very tasty. Thank you for this easy, very nutritious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
On one hand, the recipe fulfilled what I was looking for: a fast, simple recipe I had all the ingredients for. On the other hand, if I made it as is it would be very very bland. I added garlic and a spice mix called hawayej (a Yemenite mix for soups), and it was still on the bland side. In the future, I will chop the cauliflower and boil it with the broth and vegetables, and I will put even more garlic in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I used this recipe as the base to use up all the fresh vegetables in my frig before going away for the week...perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States