Cauliflower Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this last night and it was a nice twist to plain old boiled cauliflower with butter, salt and pepper. I did do a couple things differently. I didn't boil the cauliflower quite as long as suggested because I didn't want to end up with a mushy dish. I also fried it longer in the pan with the bread crumbs, butter, and onions. This not only helped the bread crumbs to stay crunchy but the extra frying time added more flavor to the cauliflower. Overall it was a very yummy dish and I would also give it a 4.5 if I could. We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I divided the cauliflower into small florets, and then simmered them til tender. I thought the finished dish was ok as written, but a generous sprinkle of freshly-grated Parmesan made a huge difference. I think I'll make it with Gruyere next. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Enjoyed this very much. It was a hit with everyone. Made it instead of potatoes, rice or pasta and it worked well. The crumbs will be dry but they become kinda crunchy which I think is the intention. No need to add additional butter. When I added the cauliflower the bread crumbs stuck to the pieces....just stir it well in the crumb mixture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was not a good recipe for us. Came out very dry. We added more butter but that made it into a mush. We enjoy our vegies and I thought I would give this a try. Cauliflower is a delicate dish when cooked so you have to be careful with adding ingrediants. So far just plain old butter, salt and pepper work for us. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Had this recipe last night and my kids loved it. I must note that I did add about 3 tablespoons of additional butter so it wasn't so dry (from the breadcrumbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
VERY GOOD! Using what I had on hand (frozen cauliflower, margarine, unseasoned bread crumbs) and tweaking it a bit to our liking (added Italian herb blend, Mrs Dash, garlic powder), it turned out excellent. The family loved it and has asked that I make it again. We ate the entire batch! Not the healthiest way to prep a vegetable, and will keep that in mind when deciding what to serve with it, but will definitely be serving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I only made a few changes, I cut up the head into florets and steamed in the microwave until al dente, so that they could continue to cook in the pan and not turn out mushy. The end result was super yummy, I had 3 helpings! One thing that I would like to note, is that there was no bubbling mixture after I added in the bread crumbs, they completely absorbed the butter. And then they stuck to the cauliflower fairly well. There was quite a bit of extra bread crumbs in the bottom of the pan that I just couldn't get to stick. That was fine with me, they still got eaten. And I would like to point out to the people that complained that this was mushy, it is not the recipes fault that you over-boiled your cauliflower and then added more butter than the recipe called for. I imagine that would turn out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I have never cooked cauliflower before and was unsure of how it might turn out. I didn't really measure out the ingredients, but just eyeballed it. The only thing I added was some garlic powder to give it a little more flavor. It turned out wonderful! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. The pan was scraped clean! I didn't have italan breadcrumbs so I used regular and added oregano and basil. I also added more butter. All 3 of the kids loved it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Did not like this recipe at all and neither did my guest. The bread crumbs was not a good combination for the cauliflower. This doesn't even deserve the one star on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States