Cauliflower Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I was intrigued by the odd combination of ingredients in this recipe, and though skeptical, the reviews convinced me to try it. I'm glad I did - the results were surprisingly tasty! I omitted the boiled eggs (I'm not a fan) and chilled it overnight as recommended. I served the salad over baby spinach dressed lightly with olive oil and red wine vinegar. Awesome! I would never have thought to combine these ingredients, but I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
The reviews for this are so good, I'm inclined to think I got the wrong kind of Creamy Italian Dressing. Here's what happened: since I was making this for just my husband and me, I cut the recipe in half, counting on leftovers. I confess I've never sliced cauliflower before and thus wound up with large slices of 2 dimensional tree-looking pieces and a bunch of crumbs. Next time I'd slice each of the smaller "flowers". I happened to have frozen shrimp, which I soaked in water until it was defrosted. Worked perfectly. I also mixed the mayo and salad dressing separately, as directed. This was when a "kitchen instinct" told me to taste the mayo/dressing mix with a bit of the salad before I poured it all in. And that's when I knew it wasn't going to work. The sharp flavor of the Italian dressing (creamy though it was) was too overwhelming for the other flavors to come through. So I switched gears and used Ranch dressing (without mixing it with mayo). It's good enough to eat, but not what I'd bring to a pot luck. It would help if the author specified the brand of dressing, since I'm not the only one to be put off by it. It's very possible I missed a great salad here... the ingredients are healthy and look pretty together. But the dressing — at least my version of it — would have ruined this for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Okay, but it needs a more flavorful dressing than the bottled one I used. Also, too much green onion for my taste. I liked the combination of salad ingredients, but I need a good salad dressing recipe to go with this instead of using a bottled one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I love this recipe!!! I make it for my very picky female friends and everyone asks for the recipe!!!! Make sure to use good shrimp - not the canned variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
This recipe is a hit. I made it for the first time, took it to a church fellowship, they loved it. I had to make another batch to keep at home. It's really very good. It is best to make it the day before as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
A quick easy recipe to make when unexpected guests stop by on a hot summer day. You can stretch how many the recipe will feed by serving the salad over a bed of lettuce. Add some crusty bread and you have a light summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe: It has so much texture and flavor. I made this recipe yesterday for a large gathering, and I was repeatedly complimented on this recipe as well as asked for the recipe. I referred those individuals to allrecipes.com! Thanks, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
Excellent! Made it to take to a graduation party for my son-in-law. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I took this to a family potluck. All the women liked it but not many of the men. It only chilled in the fridge for an hour or so before serving. It probably would have tasted even better if it was refrigerated over night. I also used a fat free salad dressing which tasted pretty good still. I will try this recipe again by chopping the cauliflower smaller, using regular dressing and refridgerating over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
For this family, it was neither distasteful, nor outstanding. Everyone ate it, including my husband and 7 & 9 year old girls. I used Marie's Creamy Italian Garlic for the dressing choice. The only switch I made was using chives because I didn't have green onions. The whole dish was a nice change and had some lovely flavours, but I just did not consider it a *WOW* 5 Star kind of dish and will more then likely not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States