Cauliflower-Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This soup is fantastic! I made it almost exactly as written, only I substituted the water with chicken broth and I used broccoli instead of cauliflower since my kids prefer broccoli. I pureed it before adding the milk sauce to the cooked veggies and it turned out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is an an easy, basic soup, it took me 15-20 minutes to make. Since I'm always looking to make foods healthier, I decreased the butter to 2 tbsp and accordingly did the same with the flour. You could use any vegetables you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I doubled up this recipe and put the veggies in the blender before adding them back to the milk mixture. It was delicious and perfect to eat after having dental surgery!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was very good. I made a few adjustments after reading other reviews. I used one cup chicken broth, 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of half and half. Also, I sauteed the onion, carrots and celery in butter first until tender, then added the flour. I think this gives extra flavor. Also, I added 1 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp white pepper and 1/2 tsp thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is such an excellent, easy, and versatile soup! I made a few changes. I used one can of chicken broth to cook the veggies in + 1/2 can water. I sauteed the onions in butter with thyme, garlic powder, salt, white pepper, and onion powder. Instead of using milk, I used half and half and a little bit of heavy cream. I did not measure out exactly three cups. I added nutmeg, onion powder, salt, pepper, and Velveeta, 1/2 slice of swiss cheese, and shredded Mexican cheese to the Roux. Great basic recipe, I just prefer more spices. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krislic84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
OK, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Loved this recipe! My picky eaters were complaining when they walked through the kitchen, but everyone of them got seconds. The leftover soup was even better the next day. Thanks so much. We will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki in IN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I didn't change a thing! Just the ticket for a bluster 18-degree night in West Michigan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This soup was excellent. I used chicken stock because I had it but I don't believe it made any difference. I will definitely make it again, and will use this as my base for clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States