Cauliflower-Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe! I did have to alter just a bit due to low carb and what I had on hand. I had lots of cauliflower, so I used 1/2 cup butter and equal parts flour. I steamed the cauliflower and celery in chicken broth. I only added a little bit of chicken bullion and pepper. No carrots (didn't have any) and no potatoes (stupid low carb). I bet it would have been great with the carrots and potatoes. Thank you for a great recipe! Also used 2% milk. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Give it 7 (yes7!!!!!) stars. Of all the recipes for cauliflower, this is my husband's favorite. He says it is THE BEST SOUP I HAVE EVER MADE and I make a lot of soup. I really did not change a thing - except that I did not have celery (so I will never add it now) and I always add a pinch of thyme to this kind of recipe so I will keep doing that! Make this soup and you will love it. Frozen cauliflower works fine, too. One more thing - garnish with toasted chopped almonds for a heavenly treat. Jack really loves that! Thank you janiebear925!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was a really wonderful soup. I made enough to feed a small army and took some suggestions of other reviewers as one can rarely have TOO much flavour, right? When I made the roux and the cheese sauce I added garlic and followed the same ingredients I use when making a rich cheese sauce to pour over veggies. Worcestershire sauce and mustard powder, bay leaves, and 'Season All' (souped up salt ;) ) gave it a nice kick. I also did half cauliflower and half broccoli because that's what I wanted to use. My friend brought roasted garlic bread and crusty French and we filled up a big bowl with cubes of bread for dipping in the soup. I could eat this all winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Looooovveee this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe turned out great for me w/the modifications from other reviews. I used chicken broth instead of water, omitted the potatoes & celery (did not even miss them), used 1 1/2 cups of cauliflower, half an onion, and doubled the cheese (definitely needed). I also only used 2 cups of milk (subbed FF half & half for 1 cup of it) and added 2 minced garlic cloves. Other modifications included sautéing the garlic, onions, & butter before adding it to the veggies and using my Vitamix to blend everything a little more. The only change I would make next time is definitely cut down on the butter! There's no need for 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It was good but very blah needed a lot of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Elfering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
good and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryna Schick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made some alterations to the recipe by using my nutri bullet. Instead of using water, I juiced some lettuce and cooked all the vegetables in the lettuce "water". After the vegetables were cooked, I returned them to the juicer and pureed them. Add the milk, flour butter, and cheese mixture, stirred together added Mrs. Dash and a little seasalt to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I used one whole cut up califlower and used 2 cups of chicken stock and adjusted the rest of the recipe and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is an okay base recipe. I used 4 cups in total of cauliflower in place of any vegetables. I also used 2 cups of milk and 1 cup of broth as other reviewers suggested. I also used 4 cloves of garlic, 1 cup feta cheese, and smoked paprika to garnish. It came out sooo good! There were no left overs. Next time I may reduce feta, top with sour cream, and some bacon bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usnwife20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States