Cauliflower-Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
We agree it needs some vegetable or chicken broth, garlic and some spices, but other than that, an awesome soup. Will enjoy often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I agree with the other reviewers that chicken stock should replace the water for more intense flavor and I also agree that fat free 1/2 and 1/2 is a super choice. Very rich tasting that way. I also use Velvetta and sharp cheddar with a generous spoonful of sour cream for a nice tang and a few drops of hot sauce for some zip. My picky kids and even husband like this if I leave out the potatoes. He's diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My husband LOVES this, but I'm just not too impressed... I probably just did something wrong LOL, but it has an odd consistancy, and there was really not that much flavor to it... I added a LOT of pepper, salt, garlic, & herbs, and it's still just ok. Might've been better cooking the veggies in chicken broth instead of water. Not sure if I'll try this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I made this for dinner yesterday, and it was a huge hit! I would have given it five stars, except for the fact that the seasoning was WAY off--without a few modifications, this would have been very bland (but this is a great starter recipe, as long as you taste and season as you go). We didn't have cauliflower, so I used a package of frozen vegetables in a steam bag (including broccoli, lima beans, carrots, and celery), steamed it in the microwave, and added it to the soup with the cheese. I increased the amount of cheese to include a mixture of Sharp Cheddar:Monterey Jack at a ratio of 2:3. The Monterey Jack REALLY made the recipe! I subbed in chicken stock for the water, and boiled some frozen hashbrown cube-cut potatoes and frozen onion, which I then added to the roux, along with the steamed veggies and cheese. The whole recipe took less than a half hour to make, and still tasted like a full, flavorful soup that had been simmering all day! I did have to add massive amounts of kosher salt, some garlic and onion powder, and a dash of oregano and terragon in order to round out the flavor profile. The carrots gave the soup a beautiful hint of color, and the lima beans added a nice textural contrast. It was a lovely soup! Thanks so much for such a great starter to a cheese soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bacisgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I swapped the 1 C of water for a 14.5 oz can of broth (and used 1 C less of milk) and used 2 C cauliflower and no potato. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Use chicken broth instead of water (a whole can) use sharp cheese, a little garlic, no potato and more cauliflower. Run it thru food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I just made this recipe and OMG how good. I didn't have carrots, so I added a can of them at the end of cooking the vegetables. I also used 1 Tblsp of chicken base in the water for added flavor as someone suggested. I emulsified the vegetables but left it kind of chunky, then pour the sauce over the vegetables. Only had Velveeta on hand so I used that. I don't like to change recipes, but that is all I had on hand and my cauliflower was starting to look bad. I don't like giving 5 stars with add-ins, but I don't think I hurt this recipe by using canned carrots. Very Very Very good - will make this again and again. Thanks for the great recipe. It really does make alot. Got pretty thick as it cooled, so will use milk to thin it when I reheat tomorrow for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wonderful soup! I had some roasted califlower and put that in. I also had a little half and half (1 cup) as part of the milk measurement. I followed the other reviews and added a chicken broth instead of water. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made this soup as directed with only 2 alterations. After reading other reviews I added about 1/2 Tablespoon chicken boulion for extra flavor. Being the only person in my household I never have milk in the 'frig, but I always have canned milk in the cupboard which I use primarily for soups. Instead of 3 cups milk I used a 12 oz can of evaporated milk and 1 1/2 cups water. I also didn't stir cheese into the soup in the pot, but chose to sprinkle it over the soup in my bowl. I added some crackers and had a very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I never start off my soups by boiling. Boiling to me waters down flavors.You don't extract flavors from onions by boiling them. Sauteing is the way to go. Here are my changes. Cook cauliflower separately in water. Don't OVERCOOK. Separate a few florets for garnish. I sauteed my onion,celery (with leaves)in butter substitute. Added 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2tspn. of nutmeg(trust me on this one),and flour. Cook for a few minutes Add chicken broth,fat free half and half and about 1 cup of water. Simmered for a litle bit. Added cauliflower in with 3 sprigs of thyme continue to simmer and add cheddar cheese. Allow the flavors to develop a little more and remove the thyme sprigs. Using an immersion blender I blended it all. Garnished with the reserved florets and some lemon zest and fresh parsley. I also sprinkled some chopped walnuts to give it a bit of crunch. Delicious ! I left out the potato and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States