Cauliflower Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I wanted this to be good. I really really did. However, mine never set after an extra 20 minutes. I eventually poured out about a tbsp of liquid (that's all that was left). The potatoes got soggy and didn't provide much of a "crust." I'm not sure where I went wrong or what I could do to improve it and will probably just never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I have made this twice, first time i found the cauliflower a little undercooked and felt it could use a little something to perk it up. It was a good base recipe. Second time I used my steamer to help cook the cauliflower and carrots first. Then i added peas and extra spices. I also had leftover cooked ham that I cubed and added. A little extra cheese, about 2 cups (colby, old and monterey jack) finished this one dish meal off perfectly. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terka
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
this was pretty good, i liked it but my partner wasn't the biggest fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was a tasty dish. I shredded the potatoes and onion in my Cuisinart, so that made it much quicker. I thought that 1 tsp salt was just too much, so next time I will cut that in half. I also added broccoli and carrots to the cauliflower. Yum, I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish for the interaction of the flavors of the cauliflower, thyme, potatoes, and cheese (I used Colby in place of Cheddar). Every step of the cooking required more time than stated in the recipe stated, but that might have been caused by my methods. My crust may have been thicker than others' because the pan was smaller, so it needed an extra 10 minutes to bake. Using frozen cauliflower, I found that the vegetable and seasoning mixture needed another 10-15 minutes to keep it from being too crunchy and I needed to add a little water to keep it from sticking. Finally, I had to bake it for an extra 10 minutes to set the custard. I also reduced the garlic by half and added quite a bit of fresh curly parsley. The only drawback I found to this dish is that the preparation required a lot of time with nearly continuous tending until it was assembled and went into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Ultimately I was not a fan of this recipe. I thought that the potato crust, while it sounded good, was a lot of work for not much flavor. This tasted fine, it was just a bit more time consuming and not generally worth the extra effort for my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My husband LOVED this dish. He had me make it twice in one week. It worked very well with the simply potatoes pre-shredded hash browns. Also, I made it once with half cauliflower and half broccoflower, and that worked quite well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made this for dinner last night, and it was OK. I did 1.5 times the recipe and baked it in a 8x11 glass pan. I also substituted broccoli for the cauliflower because that was what we had. Even at 1.5 times the recipe, this was a light dinner for 5 adults/older kids. Next time I will double the recipe and bake it in a 9x13 dish. The flavor was OK, everyone ate it, but I don't think this will be a favorite in our house. A good change from our usual dinners, but not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I made this with dinner tonight and my husband really loved it. I thought that the cauliflower needed to be cooked more before being put in the oven (I like mine pretty mushy). I also used extra herbs as a few people had suggested, but I think it was a bit much. I'll probably try this again, cooking the cauliflower more, cutting down on the thyme to what the recipe calls for, and adding more cheese. The potato crust was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is dangerous in my house! It was so good you went back for thirds and fourths! We all absolutely loved it. Only thing different we did was add more eggs and milk, but my eggs this week seem very small, and I think in the end we had way more cauliflower than this recipe would typically do. I also increased the thyme because theres nothing better than thyme and used oregano instead of basil since basil is unavailable here. The potatoe crust was just the right amount of thickness and yummyness. This recipe combined all of our faves--quiche, hashbrowns and cauliflower! Enjoy this one fresh out of the oven, or reheated later in the day, it was just as good if not better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States