Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I tried to stick to the recipe as closely as possible my first time making it. I will remake it, but I will be making some changes next time. My review for the recipe as it is written is middle of the road. My 7 year old son and I both liked it, but my mother did not care for it and my 5 year old daughter thought that being required to eat it was a fate worse than death. I did not like red peppers in this recipe because I found the sweetness off putting. The biggest thing about this recipe that I consider a fail is the corn flakes. Mixing them with sour cream and baking them in the casserole rendered them unrecognizable blobs of mush. What I liked best about this recipe is that it is a vegetable casserole where the veggies are the star of the show. I felt like 4 out of 5 vegetable casserole recipes were calling for a can of condensed soup, and I am all set with that. Next time, I'm going to begin by using green peppers and half a minced onion and sauteeing them in bacon grease before adding them to the casserole. I will also roast the cauliflower florets instead of steaming them. I will use 8oz of sour cream and 8oz of greek yogurt mixed with the sharp cheddar, and I will skip the corn flakes. Instead of just the parm on the top, I will mix the parm with the corn flakes and some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I used cheddar, Italian blend, and parmesan and also added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Making this recipe I experienced one of those moments when I knew it just wasn't going to work out, but I tried anyway based on the better ratings. I followed the directions exactly. There is simply not enough sauce, and the sauce that was there congealed and separated. I don't know how a sour cream sauce can work if it isn't made with a roux as a base, and in this case, it didn't. The flavor was minimal because of the absence of sauce, and the casserole was dry on top but wet at the base. This was a culinary failure. The flavor was okay. I'm going back to classic cauliflower au gratin. At least my grandson, 3, enjoyed it because there was cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Liked this recipe a lot. Nice flavor. I would leave out the cornflakes next time and maybe increase the amount of cheese and sour cream, just to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I doubled this recipe and took it to a potluck supper in an attractive casserole dish and it was the hit of the party! Everyone came up to me and complimented me on it. It was the only dish that was eaten to the last drop, so I would definitely do it again. The best thing was that cauliflower was on sale the day I made it, so even though the cheese was a little pricey, it was economical to make. By the way, I added two cloves of minced garlic and stir-fried it with the peppers a little beforehand. I also used cayenne instead of paprika to give it a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was a good way to cook cauliflower. I think it could use a tad more flavoring, so I plan on playing with it. I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I was skeptical about this at first. Boy oh boy is this delicious! Even my picky six year old ate it. This will be a regular part of our meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
So tasty! I made just a couple modifications for what I had on hand, and it never hurts to have a few more vegetables. Instead of 1/2 cup of peppers, I added 1 red pepper, 1 yellow pepper, and a vidalia onion (all sauteed); then used 16 oz of sour cream, 2 cups swiss cheese, and 3/4 cup bread crumbs. Because of the extra volume, I had to use a 3-quart (9x13) pan. I love that it's so easy to put together, and it's great comfort food - I could easily see this recipe becoming a staple side dish for the family Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Looking for a way to use up a head of cauliflower, this recipe did not disappoint with my family. I had to use half sour cream and Greek yogurt because I ran out of sour cream. The flavors went really well together and my family gobbled it down. I also didn’t have corn flakes on hand so I subbed Panko™ for the cereal. I did opt to put the paprika on the top. We really enjoyed everything about this dish and it paired nicely with ‘Thai Quivering Tenderloins’ from AR. Another dish that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Making it now for Fathers day, smells good!, was confused though, when mixing the ingredients they all balled up together since its thick, guessing when heated it will all melt and mix together?, could give it stars just based on smell right now since its still cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Truffled Cauliflower Gratin

See how to make cauliflower gratin with truffle pecorino.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States