Cathy's Creamy Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
LOVED the quick prep of this recipe. I halved the meat(only) and put whole fresh green beans where the other four breasts would have been. Doubled the stuffing (on top) and added some basil (made presentation nicer with the green flecks and added a little more flavor). LOVED IT. The whole meal in ONE DISH! Mine took longer than recipe stated (to get chicken to done temperature-65 minutes). I will try baking at 375 degrees next time-seems to me it would be quicker and just as good. I used a white Merlot wine. My family thought the wine was a little too strong-I will use (just a little)less next time or maybe a different kind. Also, this would be great for company-as you don't have to "babysit" it. There WILL be a next time for this one... Thanks, Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I've been making this dish for years, and making it exactly as written. I made it last night for the first time in a while, and I'd forgotten how good it is. The stuffing mix on top is simply to give the top of the dish some crunch, not to be considered as a side helping of stuffing. I've always found there to be plenty of sauce. Easy to prepare, and good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was actually very good for such a quick meal!! Seasoned the meat before doing anything. I used four cans of cream of chicken for more sauce but used 3/4 cups of white wine. Also used 3 boxes of Stouffers Savory Herb dressing which I prepared before adding to the pan. Doubled the cheese as well. Covered the pan with foil while baking. Can uncover for last 10-15 mins if you want dressing crispier. Excellent taste for such little preparation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This is sooooo delicious! I have made it twice now. The second time I did not have all the right ingredients so I substituted the white wine with chicken broth and I used mozzarella and cut up some fresh parmesan, and It was still unbelievable! I also drizzled the butter on top of the stuffing too. This dish is so amazing and after a long day of work, it’s so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is one of my go to quick fall comfort meals. This can be adapted to the crockpot. I layer sliced onions in the bottom of the crockpot and lay the chicken over the top. I wait to sprinkle the stuffing mix and butter over the top until an hour before serving. I use Healthy Choice soup and a whole box of Stove Top instead of just a cup. We like this paired with hot fluffy whole wheat biscuits and roasted broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I use 1/2 cup milk instead of wine in this recipe because I don't like the flavor of white wine. I also use a whole box of cornbread stuffing instead of just one cup. It's definitely easy, great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This was very good. I would line the pan with stuffing, though, as the sauce was really soupy and didn't thicken up much. The stuffing would really soak that up and it would be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Yummy recipe and goes very fast. Cooked chicken a little bit beforehand and cut baking time in half. Will try it with some bacon bits next time. Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this the other night and it was wonderful. I use half the amount of chicken breasts and season them a bit first and didn't change the amount of sauce. I used cream of mushroom soup instead. I doubled the bread crumbs putting half on the bottom to form a layer before adding chicken to soak up some of the sauce along with some fresh mushrooms. The sauce mixture was 1 can of soup, a little mayo, 1/4 c. white wine, threw a little shedded cheddar on top in the last 5 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I love this recipe. So glad I found it. My mom gave it to me over a decade ago and it disappeared a while ago. It's the perfect dinner when you have people over but don't want to spend too much time in the kitchen. I usually make some changes. I triple the sauce, add tarragon to make it more savory, use a whole bag of stuffing (when using an 11x13 pan) and drizzle the butter over the top of the stuffing before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States