Cathy's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Really nice flavor! I subbed banana extract for the vanilla and added some chopped walnuts. Will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have made this recipe twice so far and it has been fantastic both times! The only change I made was to use 2/3 cup brown sugar and 2/3 cup white sugar instead of all white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I admit to playing with the recipe a bit; I just can't help myself! I used 1 cup of fat-free strawberry yogurt in place of the sour cream (didn't have any), 1/4 cup sweetened applesauce instead of the butter (to keep the bread low fat), cut the sugar down to a scant 3/4 cup (bananas were quite sweet, and because of the additional sugar in the applesauce) and replaced half the flour with quick oats. Baked up wonderfully in an hour. Keep in mind the texture is affected with my changes, making the loaf kind of rubber-y but after a day or two on the counter loosely covered it gets less so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have made this a few times, both as bread and as muffins. This recipe makes very moist, light, and delicious muffins (or bread)! Thank you so much for sharing- this is our go to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Yummy! Best banana bread recipe I have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Excellente! Perfecto! I will try substituting sour cream for plain non-fat yogurt next time. As suggested by other members, I used 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup white sugar, and also added 1 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I dusted the greased pan w/ cinnamon-white sugar mixture, and topped it with a streusel as suggested by another member (combine 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 TBSP flour, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 2 TBSP melted butter) and topped with walnuts. Baked 1 hour at 350. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Made this for some Troops in Afghanistan for Christmas. My daughter called and they want me to send more. Best banana bread I have ever had. And the Troops love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was very good but I tweeked it to be dairy free so my daughter could have it and it wasn't as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Love this recipe! I cut the recipe in half to only make one loaf but I still used 1 cup of banana to keep it rich with flavor. I have bananas ripening right now so I can make this again! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 854) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States