Cathy's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is just wonderful! I have made this banana bread many times and it turns out great every time! My husband just loves it. The only changes I made was Butter instead of margarine and reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup. The ingredients are basic and easily available in the Dominican Republic where we winter and often end up with overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby1781

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This came out SUPREME. I rushed it, had 2 old bananas, used butter instead of margarine and also added 1/4 cup of cocoa to chocolatize it. Greased with spray oil. The sour cream really makes it. Added 10 minutes to time to firm it up. After cooling some, it dropped right out of a pyrex loaf pan. Served with brandy butter and vanilla ice cream. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I subbed 2% Greek Yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe, both with and without walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
A very good banana bread. The sour cream is a nice change, otherwise a basic, but tasty banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This reciped is the BEST!! I made it, added one more banana to the cup called for, just fine. I have a pullman loaf pan, the a small Temptations mini loaf pan. This recipe rocks!!! Timing was exactly correct!! Saving this one to my "Recipe Box" Will have to make again. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANAMARIA1018

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is my go to banana Breda recipe, love it! I add a bit more bananas. It is a great way to use your over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This is more banana cake than plain banana bread... I am not a fan of banana bread but friends and family are! =) I used vanilla greek yogurt (2%) in place of the sour cream and it worked perfectly. Really amped up the vanilla flavor. Recipe doubled easily for church potluck. This will not be the last time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I make this ALL the time. The sour cream makes this nice and moist and it's much less fattening since only a small amount of butter used. Awesome bread every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jazzy
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have tried many variations of Banana Bread, but never had an addition of sour cream..it was incredible..the flavor was intense and the texture perfect, very moist!! The only things I changed to my personal preference is use real unsalted butter and cut the sugar back to 1 cup, which is plenty..also like someone else mentioned, I sprinkle cinnamon sugar in the pan before baking and it gives it a little something extra! I baked this Bread in a 13x9x2, it baked up very nice! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States