Cathy's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I'm usually not a big fan of banana bread but I really enjoyed this. My hubby said it was the best ever. I will definitely make this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariam
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I made this for my dad few years ago and he loved it! Now, for the hubs, and he is insane about it. It tastes better every single time!!! I agree with the comments, use 1 cup brown sugar and .5 cup white. It literally tastes better. Also, I like my banana bread lightly sweetened. If you prefer that as well, use the light yellow color bananas, not exactly ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Pretty easy and pretty good, esp with the Swedish sugar granules sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a really great recipe! Many ways to modify/substitute yet the basis is great to utilize. Used the sour cream this time but don't think it's necessary. Made following substitutions: baking soda (not on hand) - used extra baking powder flour - to make gluten free, used flaxseed meal Sugar - brown & powdered sugar In addition, added 1 packet of dark chocolate cocoa, flax seeds, lil butterscotch syrup, chocolate chips & dollop of coconut oil (also used to grease pan). Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I've made this recipe 2 different times. Both times was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I made this today with some modifications based on other reviews. I added more bananas, all spice, nutmeg, chocolate chips walnuts and cinnamon. I doubled the recipe for a large batch and also made a loaf. The loaf took a long time to cook and the sides were burned so I cut them off. The bread itself is very tasty and moist. The flavor is amazing! The muffins rose nicely and didn't fall in the middle as some reviewers reported. I had to sit in front of the oven the whole time to alternate the heat from above and below for even cooking. I think they are very nice muffins and will make them again but won't double the recipe next time. I gave it four stars since I had to modify it but I like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Excellent and easy I took a few suggestions from reviews; put in more bananas, less sugar added baking powder and vanilla. The idea for cooking for 40 minutes then covering loosely with foil,lowering temp and cooking an additional 20 was great! I would rate this five star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Brigham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie-France Paquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dan Rasmussen
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I doubled the recipe and added 1/4 cup of skim milk. Made it easier to mix up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Rasmussen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a great banana bread recipe. I did make several changes to the recipe. I did not have ripened bananas, which I have found is key to a great banana bread. So I ripened my own by preheating oven to 300, placing 2 bananas on foil 3-5 inches apart and baking for about 40 minutes or until very black. Let cool, I mashed with a fork, but they were very stringy so I threw in my food processor to smoothen up. I replaced vanilla extract with 1.5 tsp imitation banana extract, added a couple shakes of cinnamon to the mix, greased and sprinkled the bottom of the pans with cinnamon & sugar, as well as the tops of the bread, I also added finely chopped walnuts. I used four 3x5 foil pans. Baked at 350 for 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 869) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States