Cathy's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was a very easy recipe and came out so soft and moist! One thing i really liked compared to other banana bread recipes i have made is this one bakes a pretty light color. All the other recipes always come out dark looking. My 3 year old was able to help mash the bananas and stir the ingredients which tells you how easy it is! We both loved the finished results!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yum! I did modify it. Only used 1/2 the sugar, added 3 ripe bananas, semi sweet chocolate chips (I double the batch so I used one whole bag), i love almonds so i used those instead and 1 1/2 cups of frozen blue berries! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
My first time trying banana bread so it could have been me not adding enough of something but it was ok. I followed the recipe as is and it didn't do it for me. I still found myself craving my mom's banana bread. I will try again but with another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The only issue I have with Cathy's banana bread us how many people request it. Its hard finding over ripe bananas for last minute requests. The only changes I made was taking the suggestion of using brown sugar and cutting down on the white sugar and adding lots of cinnamon and nutmeg to both flour mixture and bottom if pan. One more change which was a total accident due to not knowing how many bananas mashed make a cup I ended up using a total of six bananas. Baked in two 8inch loaf pans. The breads are not very tall but somehow this is what makes them so unique like I said total accident
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Today is the 2nd time I've made this recipe and my whole family loves it! The only issue I have is that when baking it at 350 it take about 1.5-1.75 hours to fully bake otherwise it tastes really good and is very moist! I didn't change the recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Pilarski
Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I was looking for a fluffy tasty version of banana bread. I found it in this recipe! I exchanged 1/3 of sugar for Splenda. And used real butter and not margarine. And increased nuts to 1/2 cup. Best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Really moist and good! I did add a little nutmeg and cinnamon for more flavor. I used 2 medium sized bananas so I think it was probably 1 and 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We love this recipe too and I do the substitutions that were recommended. I use butter, Greek yogurt in lieu of margarine and sour cream and cut the sugar ....1 cup instead of 1 and 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is just wonderful! I have made this banana bread many times and it turns out great every time! My husband just loves it. The only changes I made was Butter instead of margarine and reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup. The ingredients are basic and easily available in the Dominican Republic where we winter and often end up with overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby1781

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This came out SUPREME. I rushed it, had 2 old bananas, used butter instead of margarine and also added 1/4 cup of cocoa to chocolatize it. Greased with spray oil. The sour cream really makes it. Added 10 minutes to time to firm it up. After cooling some, it dropped right out of a pyrex loaf pan. Served with brandy butter and vanilla ice cream. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States