Cathy's Amazing Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is it, in its simple glory! (I agree with the reviewer who uses salt pork instead of bacon, though.) If you're looking for "the" Maine fish chowdah recipe, it don't get much closah than this heah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I am not much of a fan of seafood but recent dietary changes made me explore it. This recipe may convert me to being more of a seafood eater. I made this as presented and then a second time with my tweaks. Either are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Incredibly easy and very tasty. The only thing I did different was I used chicken broth instead of water and I added a little bit of cayenne pepper to give it a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent!! I don't know what Maine chowder tastes like, but I just threw in some fish I had in the freezer, thawed it, cut it into 1" cubes and dumped it in the pot. I also added a can of cream style corn and garlic salt. I'll keep this one in my personal recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is the best fish chowder ever! I do suggest putting in old bay. We ate the whole pot and had NO leftovers! beth, Gainesville,fl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was tasty and very easy to make. I only used 1/2 pound of bacon which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it! Hubby thot the fish part sounded unappealing (he doesn't much like fish). So we basically broke it down into 2 small recipes. In mine we put the fish. In his we did not, leaving him with basically a potato soup. .... It was delicious! I'm quite fond of Mrs Dash (all the different flavors), so I sprinkled some on my chowder. But I did try it before doing that, and thot it was great that way, too. This is one we'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
SO good! Made as is, but did add a can of corn and a sprinkle of Old Bay seasoning. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
WONDERFUL! Whole family loved it, including 4 picky kids! They all had a second helping and were scraping their bowls. I paired it with cheese garlic biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
All you need to do is add about a teaspoon of old bay seasoning, and some sea salt and pepper. I also put 2 more potatoes and added 2 tablespoons of flour during the simmering stage to thicken it up a little because i hate runny chowder. Other than those small additions this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States