Cathy's Amazing Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
All you need to do is add about a teaspoon of old bay seasoning, and some sea salt and pepper. I also put 2 more potatoes and added 2 tablespoons of flour during the simmering stage to thicken it up a little because i hate runny chowder. Other than those small additions this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
WONDERFUL! Whole family loved it, including 4 picky kids! They all had a second helping and were scraping their bowls. I paired it with cheese garlic biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
SO good! Made as is, but did add a can of corn and a sprinkle of Old Bay seasoning. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it! Hubby thot the fish part sounded unappealing (he doesn't much like fish). So we basically broke it down into 2 small recipes. In mine we put the fish. In his we did not, leaving him with basically a potato soup. .... It was delicious! I'm quite fond of Mrs Dash (all the different flavors), so I sprinkled some on my chowder. But I did try it before doing that, and thot it was great that way, too. This is one we'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very bland. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
i grew up eating fish and make it all the time, although this was my first fish soup/chowder (we always fry/bake/grill). after spicing up the base with cayenne and zatarain's cajun seasoning (i didn't have old bay) the base was excellent tasting but i just prefer to eat fish by itself. like i said i've never had fish soup before and i probably never will, it was just weird to eat it in a soup but i still give this 5 stars because the taste was really excellent we just didn't like the chunks of fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
A most enjoyable meal. I did add some hot sauce, I really enjoyed the mixed flavors. But I reduced the bacon to 3 slices, and added no salt because of diet restrictions. Had it for breakfast, dinner and breakfast the next day. WONDERFUL STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I added thinly sliced leeks, just sauteed with the onion, and it gave the soup tons more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
It was edible but I did not much care for it, neither did my boyfriend. It was very bland with a strong fishy taste. The only good part, we thought, was the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I am not much of a fan of seafood but recent dietary changes made me explore it. This recipe may convert me to being more of a seafood eater. I made this as presented and then a second time with my tweaks. Either are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States