Cathy's Amazing Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was very good, but I would substitute one of the cans of evaporated milk for some 1/2 and 1/2. A genuine Maine chowda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
All you need to do is add about a teaspoon of old bay seasoning, and some sea salt and pepper. I also put 2 more potatoes and added 2 tablespoons of flour during the simmering stage to thicken it up a little because i hate runny chowder. Other than those small additions this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
WONDERFUL! Whole family loved it, including 4 picky kids! They all had a second helping and were scraping their bowls. I paired it with cheese garlic biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
SO good! Made as is, but did add a can of corn and a sprinkle of Old Bay seasoning. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved it! Hubby thot the fish part sounded unappealing (he doesn't much like fish). So we basically broke it down into 2 small recipes. In mine we put the fish. In his we did not, leaving him with basically a potato soup. .... It was delicious! I'm quite fond of Mrs Dash (all the different flavors), so I sprinkled some on my chowder. But I did try it before doing that, and thot it was great that way, too. This is one we'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very bland. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
i grew up eating fish and make it all the time, although this was my first fish soup/chowder (we always fry/bake/grill). after spicing up the base with cayenne and zatarain's cajun seasoning (i didn't have old bay) the base was excellent tasting but i just prefer to eat fish by itself. like i said i've never had fish soup before and i probably never will, it was just weird to eat it in a soup but i still give this 5 stars because the taste was really excellent we just didn't like the chunks of fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
A most enjoyable meal. I did add some hot sauce, I really enjoyed the mixed flavors. But I reduced the bacon to 3 slices, and added no salt because of diet restrictions. Had it for breakfast, dinner and breakfast the next day. WONDERFUL STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I added thinly sliced leeks, just sauteed with the onion, and it gave the soup tons more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
It was edible but I did not much care for it, neither did my boyfriend. It was very bland with a strong fishy taste. The only good part, we thought, was the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States