Cathie's Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This has to be the best clam chowder I've ever had & I have tried several. It is now the recipe we will be using from now on & we'll pass it on to others as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Gastineau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was perfect and the Potatoes in clam and water suggestion was superb! I made homemade sourdough bread bowls and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
amateur cook here, I can't have butter and I needed to triple the recipe. I subbed with sour cream and 1TB of olive oil, I added half & half as needed-probably about 1/2 quart; I think the sour cream made me need less even though I tripled the recipe. I didn't triple the flour, used 4TB. And I only had 2 cans of clams. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wonderful chowder with a couple of minor modifications to suit our preferences. I appreciate you posting this recipe as I'd never made a creamy chowder before, and needed a good, basic guideline & procedure to follow. I cooked the chopped onions and diced bacon in a few tablespoons of melted butter, then added a couple of tablespoons of flour thus creating a roux. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, but omitted water and substituted more clam juice instead, doubled the potatoes. After the potatoes were cooked through in the clam juice, I reduced the heat to a low simmer, then I added twice the amount of clams (I used half minced clams and half chopped clams), and used 1 quart half & half with about a pint of heavy cream. I stirred it often making sure the cream wasn't allowed to boil. I threw in a couple of tablespoons of dried parsely, and a couple of teaspoons of dried dill weed. I served this at a potluck with fresh french bread, and got huge raves, and lots of recipe requests. Thank you!!! 07/15/2012: Made this again last night...just delicious! I've found that precooking the bacon til crisp then adding to the roux of butter, onions and flour makes a huge difference. Also, replacing all water with clam juice adds great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My family loves it! Whenever I make this recipe, I double it. We do not like chunks of celery and potatoes in our chowder, so I do not use celery. I use 8 (6.5 oz) cans of chopped and minced clams in clam juice. I drain the clams and save the juice for the soup, instead of using bottled clam juice. I use about 2 cups of the juice with 2 quarts of half-and-half. For a little extra flavor, I use pepper, dried chives, parsley, and celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I don't eat seafood, but my dad does and I made this for him. He loved it! I followed the directions exactly, no substitutions. I can't wait to make it again, since it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I also added two cloves of fresh garlic to the celery and onion, but left out the bacon, I didn't want that to be such a strong taste. I also added a can of diced new potatoes in as well and a little less clams. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This has been an OMG GOOD chowder, But.. If you have more that 2 people eating it, You should double or even triple the recipe amounts. I had to make a second trip to the store because my daughter had her boyfriend over. To coin a contemporary phrase (WE TORE IT UP!!) Had to add a little more flour and water as a thickening agent but UM, UM, that stuff was great. Heaven on the lips. Took the Chill off A Cold and Snowy Day in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
and to think... i thought i didn't even like chowder. this was amazingly good and easy. ty for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions exactly (except where it forgot to tell us when to add the additional clam juice, i did that on my own) and it "broke" almost immediately. I also was not crazy about the flavor/consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States