Cathie's Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This has to be the best clam chowder I've ever had & I have tried several. It is now the recipe we will be using from now on & we'll pass it on to others as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Gastineau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was perfect and the Potatoes in clam and water suggestion was superb! I made homemade sourdough bread bowls and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
amateur cook here, I can't have butter and I needed to triple the recipe. I subbed with sour cream and 1TB of olive oil, I added half & half as needed-probably about 1/2 quart; I think the sour cream made me need less even though I tripled the recipe. I didn't triple the flour, used 4TB. And I only had 2 cans of clams. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wonderful chowder with a couple of minor modifications to suit our preferences. I appreciate you posting this recipe as I'd never made a creamy chowder before, and needed a good, basic guideline & procedure to follow. I cooked the chopped onions and diced bacon in a few tablespoons of melted butter, then added a couple of tablespoons of flour thus creating a roux. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, but omitted water and substituted more clam juice instead, doubled the potatoes. After the potatoes were cooked through in the clam juice, I reduced the heat to a low simmer, then I added twice the amount of clams (I used half minced clams and half chopped clams), and used 1 quart half & half with about a pint of heavy cream. I stirred it often making sure the cream wasn't allowed to boil. I threw in a couple of tablespoons of dried parsely, and a couple of teaspoons of dried dill weed. I served this at a potluck with fresh french bread, and got huge raves, and lots of recipe requests. Thank you!!! 07/15/2012: Made this again last night...just delicious! I've found that precooking the bacon til crisp then adding to the roux of butter, onions and flour makes a huge difference. Also, replacing all water with clam juice adds great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My family loves it! Whenever I make this recipe, I double it. We do not like chunks of celery and potatoes in our chowder, so I do not use celery. I use 8 (6.5 oz) cans of chopped and minced clams in clam juice. I drain the clams and save the juice for the soup, instead of using bottled clam juice. I use about 2 cups of the juice with 2 quarts of half-and-half. For a little extra flavor, I use pepper, dried chives, parsley, and celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I don't eat seafood, but my dad does and I made this for him. He loved it! I followed the directions exactly, no substitutions. I can't wait to make it again, since it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I also added two cloves of fresh garlic to the celery and onion, but left out the bacon, I didn't want that to be such a strong taste. I also added a can of diced new potatoes in as well and a little less clams. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This has been an OMG GOOD chowder, But.. If you have more that 2 people eating it, You should double or even triple the recipe amounts. I had to make a second trip to the store because my daughter had her boyfriend over. To coin a contemporary phrase (WE TORE IT UP!!) Had to add a little more flour and water as a thickening agent but UM, UM, that stuff was great. Heaven on the lips. Took the Chill off A Cold and Snowy Day in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
and to think... i thought i didn't even like chowder. this was amazingly good and easy. ty for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions exactly (except where it forgot to tell us when to add the additional clam juice, i did that on my own) and it "broke" almost immediately. I also was not crazy about the flavor/consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States