Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I'm a very simple cook, so the list of ingredients was a little overwhelming at first. While there are quite a few ingredients, most of them are common household groceries and are relatively inexpensive. And even though there are a number of ingredients, it's virtually impossible to mess this recipe up. It's totally worth the time and money you spend on it. On an added note: If you have trouble finding CONDENSED TOMATO SOUP in the grocery store [like I did], I found a substitution online for 8oz tomato sauce, 2 tbsp sugar, 1 tbsp cornstarch, and 1/2 tsp salt. Throw that together, and it comes out just as delicious. I hope everyone enjoys this recipe as much as I did. The beauty of it is that whether you're a salty, sweet, or spicy lover, you can adjust all of the ingredients exactly to your liking, and it's virtually impossible to end up with a bad result. I promise you and your family will love this meal, and it will make plenty of leftovers that re-heat wonderfully! Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
OMG, this is fantastic. I used black beans as I like them better than chili beans. Served with shredded cheese and tortilla chips,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
can substitute tomato sauce for condensed soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have to agree with all of the reviews...this soup is great! I was skeptical at first when I saw "tomato soup" in the recipe, but the soup is truly fabulous. I'm not sure why the recipe called for whole tomatoes, (they were a little overwhelming) so I'm omitting those next time. We like our food hot, so next time I will add more garlic and chili powder. Totally Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Very good and I made modifications like other reviews recommended. This is a recipe to keep in your mind and make it anywhere you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Absolutely loved it!! Left out the whole tomatoes due to not having any and used only 5 chicken breasts, otherwise followed it to the letter. I had less than the 5 cups of broth left, I just poured all I had left in the soup. Came out like a perfect chunky chicken chili. Very hearty and meaty, will make this again. Makes enough to feed my family of 4, 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very delicious soup! I added lentil and kidney beans as well and it was a super nice and healthy dinner. My husband who dislikes all kinds of soup also liked this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This soup is very good. I put the leftovers in small containers to freeze for my lunches. It thaws all morning and is ready for a microwave warm up for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I MADE THE SPICY CHICKEN SOUP TONITE, IT WAS GOOD BUT I WOULD DIFFIDENTLY MAKE SOME CHANGES.I GIVE IT 3.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States