Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is one of our favorite recipes we have found! We omit the sour cream and add as needed in our bowl to cut calories. We also omit the whole tomatoes simply because we don't like them. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Hanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
After reading all the fabulous reviews, I went ahead and made the entire recipe, even tho it's only my husband and I. Huge Mistake! First of all, when it all comes together, it didn't fit in my dutch oven (5 1/2 Q I think). The taste is just wrong. Like a big bowl of hot salsa with chicken, only worse. The only help for it was to add a lot of heavy whipping cream. I followed recipe exactly too. Usually I go with the majority and think the few people who give bad reviews to something very popular just can't cook or forgot something. Not this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Did follow the recipe and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Epic. Add some kale, potato chunks, and carrots, and it's so. Freaking bombbbbb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Paul Vogel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was really good. I used a little less that the two quarts of water and did not include diced tomatoes in part based on what I had on hand. I also used a whole split fryer and prepared it in a crock pot instead of boiling. I added 1/2 t cumin seeds and 1/2 t red pepper flakes to the spice blend listed. This is a soup I'm sure I'll make again, love that after a hearty meal, we have enough leftover for a second meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
We loved this. I made no changes, even though I was suspicious about adding the sour cream to the soup and almost left it to serve on top, but I'm glad I didn't. This soup was awesome, filling, and the leftovers fed us for a week. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I have been making this recipe for 3 years now... I make a giant batch in the fall and separate and freeze it for cold nights during the winter. The ONLY thing I do different is one less can of tomatoes, because the first time I made it I was one can short and we decided it was perfect anyway!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Wyomissing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
As per the recipe by LASVEGAS00, I made mine in the crock pot. I halved the recipe and made the following adjustments: "Minus olive oil, corn and beans, threw everything in my crockpot (chicken breasts whole) and set on low for 8 hours. Last 2 hours, I removed chicken breasts to shred (didn't take much as they fell apart from being in the juices), added chicken meat back in, 1 can of black beans (rinsed and drained), and the corn." However, I did forget to add the corn, black beans, and chilli powder until I had eaten one bowl of this deliciousness. It was great without it too. After I added them in, I decided I actually preferred the flavor without the chili powder. Next time I will leave it out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ssandoval
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
this soup is delicious, my kids love it, and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Tried this tonight. Yummy, luckily it made a big pot because we will be fighting for the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIA_ARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States