Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made this soup several times with no variations however tonight since my boyfriend and I are both sick it I made it again this time don't have any chilli beans in the house. I used dried rosemary, and few other spices added to the soup. I have read most of the complaints when it comes to being too salty add a little vinegar this will take away some of the salt. My boyfriend loves this soup its so simple to make I just throw everything in a crock-pot or on the stove top in a big pot to simmer for about 2 to 4 hour's. Even my boyfriend made this last month he was impressed by the simple recipe and he says he can't cook. We keep everything in stock for soups in the house. Can smell it already but will wait till he gets home from work. I'm half Italian so most of the time I use my grandma's recipes for soup's this one is close to her's just different. Love this soup one day when I have time I will post some of my grandma's recipes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Mmmm!! My boyfriend and I loved this!! I just threw everything in my slow cooker and added a few more chili flakes. It smelled amazing and tasted even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We love this recipe. Not really spicy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
awesome this was so good, wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was an amazing recipe. I followed the instructions to the letter and the soup was very tasteful and satisfying. The whole family enjoyed it. We will make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
A friend made this soup for me, I had to have the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I took the advice of others and used black beans instead of chili beans.....other than substituting chopped fresh tomatoes for the canned whole tomatoes and adding some red pepper, I made it exactly as the recipe shows. It was great! I garnished it with a handful of fried tortilla strips, some avocado chunks and a dollop of sour cream.....a quick squeeze of lime....very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This soup is amazing! I was skeptical at first and wanted to alter the recipe but no need. Perfect as is. I loved it so much I joined allrecipes just to give it the review it deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Amazing soup! I made it a little easier - instead of boiling the chicken I chopped it up and cooked until almost done and then added the onions and cooked a bit longer and then added everything else. Instead of the 5 cups of broth I just added 1-2 cups of water and it came out perfect. You could leave out the water and have it be more like a chili. I made this for work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was delicious! I made it exactly as written but halved the chili powder since 3 TB seemed liked a lot. It was perfect. I also didn't add the sour cream or shredded cheese until dishing the soup in bowls. I will say it made WAY more than 8 servings. We had enough for probably 12 people. I just froze the extra. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States