Catherine's Sirloin Tip Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was very good - only changes I made were to make it in slow cooker and pour about 1/4 cup of worcestershire sauce over roast. Cooked on low for about 6-7 hours - meat was so tender, it fell apart as I took it out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I've been making roast like this for as long as I've been cooking. For the last few years though, I have been adding some worstershire sauce over the whole roast then put the pepper and kosher salt over the whole roast and bake as directed. I find the worster. sauce gives it a really nice flavor and seems to make it even more tender. I also do this method with Prime Rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This was really good! Everyone loved it. I used whole cloves of garlic and a lot more pepper than 1 tsp I also rubbed the pepper into the meat instead of just sprinkling it on. I also seared the meat on all sides (use a pan that can go from stove top to oven). I put large pieces of carrots, potatoes, onions around the roast when I lowered the tempature. They were so good and the drippings made a really tasty gravy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Easy in the crock pot too. Just sear meat first before adding to the crock pot. I cooked on low for a little less than 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
What is with everybody taking a good piece of meat and making it into a pot roast? if you want moist heat (like using a crockpot) use a cheap cut, and it will turn out great. If you're using a nice cut, use the dry method without adding water or you're wrecking all the qualities you're paying extra for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and cooked the roast to 160 degrees for medium. It was the toughest piece of meat I have ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I think the hour and twenty minutes is a tad too long to cook this roast. It came out tough and chewy, a big disappointment for a $20 cut of meat. However, I tried to salvage it by turning it into french dip. I sliced it thinly and simmered it in swanson's beef broth with onion on low for about two hours. It definitely made the best french dip ever! So five stars for this recipe, even though I had to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Made this for a Sunday supper, it was great, had good flavor and very tender, I served it with mashed potatoes, homeade gravy from the drippings and carrot and broccoli mix! Yum!!! Thanks Kate! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Simple and delicious! I make this every couple of weeks in the fall and winter and my whole, fussy family eats it! There are 6 of us, and I actually rate my dinners out of 6 - so, if 6 eat it, it's 6 out of 6!!! This recipe is a 6/6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States