Catfish Tuscany Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I am a big catfish fan, actually most all fish. This hit the spot this evening. I noticed I had some frozen fillets in the freezer and had all the other ingredients. About 25 minutes later, I was enjoying my supper. I didn't alter the recipe, which is my tendancy on the second and third tries. As-is, this is a winner. I wil try it with mahi-mahi or grouper next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Although some people may be hesitant to try this dish, please do try it! It’s very good. I made it exactly as stated, except I used canned diced tomatoes since I didn’t have any Roma. I also used light mayo and sprinkled a little parsley on top after broiling for added color. This recipe is a nice change from the regular cornmeal/flour coated catfish dish. However, if you’re looking for a more traditional “fishy” catfish meal, this might not be for you; it’s wonderful, but all the ingredients mask most of the fishy taste (but that’s not always a bad thing!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a simple easy recipe that is so good! I even tried it with tilapia last night and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Great recipe! The best part was the crispy edges from the browning of the cheese. Yummy! The first time I made it, I did it exactly as the recipe said. The second time, I didn't have catfish so I used tilapia instead. It was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I never buy catfish, but it was half off at the store so I decided to give it a shot. I was looking for something quick to make myself for lunch and decided to use the catfish because I wasn't sure if I made it for my family if my kids would like it. Well, let me just tell you, it was quick, easy, and scrumptious!! I am definitely keeping this one! One of my daughters asked for a bite and then ended up eating half of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCHANEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I liked it, but my guy didn't. He doesn't like "cooked mayo" so next time I'll substitute something for it. The filets were real light and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBROSIA1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I did not feel that this was worth the time or $.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Wow. I was pretty skeptical about this recipe. ("Tuscan"? I don't think so!) But the reviews were so glowing...and boy were they right. The crispy, toasty parmesan crust was a perfect match for the catfish, which was wonderfully tender. (I left off the tomatoes to make sure the cooking was even.) Quick, easily, and absolutely delicious. One note -- definitely pay attention to the instruction to place the fish 4 inches from the broiler, not right by the flames!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Prepared just as directed, and it came out superbly done. Nice presentation, too. Used the roma tomatoes instead of sundried. It will be a staple in our home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States