Catfish Tuscany Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was the first time I tried to cook catfish (Swai). My broiler and I do not always agree on what is going on in the oven, and I turned it on and let it get to 400, which is a good thing since by the time I had put on the Parmesan cheese/butter/mayonnaise mixture with the tomatoes, and let it broil for the requisite 6 minutes, the tomatoes were nearly charcoal. Probably will try again and put the sun-dried tomatoes on only the last 2 minutes or so. The fish has a very delicate flavor and is very tender. I also had it 8" from the heat instead of 4" otherwise I probably would have had the entire meal charcoal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
It was okay, but I am not the biggest catfish fan. My husband did enjoy it. I would definitely recommend adding the sundried tomatoes at the VERY end, as I burned mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is some awesome stuff! My whole family devoured it. I changed it slightly by marinating the fish in a zip lock bag with the lemon juice and S&P for about 10 minutes. Then broiled as normal but I did add garlic and crushed red pepper to the cheese mixture. The best baked fish recipe I have ever found. One thing that will make a really big difference is to only use Roma tomatoes and slice paper thin. I had 4 large pieces of fish and only used 1 Roma. This is key in keeping the fish nice and crispy instead of getting soggy. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Wow. We loved this. I did add some garlic to the butter/parmesan cheese mixture. I also sauted some mushrooms but did not add them to the fish. I did not put the tomatoes on top of the fish, I just cooked them along side. All together it was a great combination. I will make this again. Will also try it with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Very tasty I'm not a huge fan of catfish, but the freshly grated parmesan cheese crust and lemon made this dish one of my favorites. The only thing I did differently was I put the fish in a bowl and coated the fish in lemon juice, turning it over to evenly distribute the lemon. Oh and definitely add the tomatoes and sauce on top of the fish on the last 6 minutes of broiling the tomatoes were such a wonderful touch. Everyone enjoyed and went back for seconds, can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Awesome! To cut back on some sodium I omitted the 1/2 teaspoon salt from the recipe. -and it was still full of flavor. (..next time I'll try salt free butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Absolutely LOVE this recipe. I follow it exactly but I cook it in a Nu-Wave oven. I have told everyone I know about this recipe including people in line at the grocery store. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was a great recipe, my husband and daughter loved it! I tweeked it just a bit by adding 2 cloves of fresh garlic to the cheese mixture. I cooked the fish and added sliced tomatoes for the last minute or two. I did cook it a bit longer to golden up the cheese before putting on the tomatoes. This will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious. I used garlic in the butter mayo mix and roma tomatoes for the broil. My filets were Swai from Viet Nam. Thanks. We'll have this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I've done this with catfish and swai. Both were delicious. I serve it over rice or egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States