Catfish Saint James Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by almondmoose
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
It was pretty good. Felt like it could have used a sauce. I only used 1/4c of butter. I served scampi noodles and broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
The flavors of the breading here were great, but - I don't know, my oven is insane, but my fish was cooked through after 10 minutes and never got brown at all. The coating remained soggy and wet. My filets were also a bit smaller than recommended, so that might have made a difference. We liked the flavors well enough to try and make it work, though. (I halved the breading recipe and used about 1/4 of the butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
this recipe was a pretty typical breaded, baked fish recipe. the only change i made was to spray the fish with butter spray instead of pouring melted butter on them - a change i make to any recipe with those instructions - and i don't think that contributed to my ho-hum feeling about this catfish. the flavor of the coating just wasn't anything exciting to me. i will say i enjoy the health benefits of a recipe that is breaded and baked, not fried. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was easy to make and very tasty! I thought there was too much flour in this recipe, and a bit more butter than necessary, but otherwise a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I cut this recipe in half for 3 fillets and it was twice as much breading as I would need, though I confess I did not measure them so perhaps they're not 8 oz each. The flavor is good, but I'll have to try and take a picture of them next time, because my pollock fillets (which were admittedly probably undersized, and for which I do not fault the recipe) got overdone and a bit unsightly. I've got another batch worth of breading left over, so I'll make these again next week with tilapia and revise my review if necessary :) I was hoping this recipe would be a good copycat for the "Parmesan Crusted Tilapia" you can get in the freezer section at Sam's but it wasn't really the same set of spices. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was good. Made as stated, we enjoyed it but something was missing. It almost needed something to give it a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Quick and easy, however I should have read the reviews in advance....Way to much butter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
My family liked this recipe a lot. The catfish was easy to make, cooked perfectly, and had a really nice flavor. The only problem I had was with the amount of butter. As another reviewer suggested I cut the butter down to 1/4 cup and I thought even that was too much. I would make it again and cut the butter down even more- just a light drizzle would be great. I used 2% milk and thought that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This wasn't bad. I am looking for a kickin' catfish recipe. Everything I have tried on my own has failed. I did not have dry mustard or onion, substituted creole and old bay seasoning 1 tbs each. I also flashed it under the broiler at the end. Next time I'll try frying it in olive oil and half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly but only made half of it since I had less catfish than it called for. I really enjoyed the spice combination, and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States