Catfish Pecan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very bland, like hospital food. We had 7 people eating it. Both children disliked it and the adults gave it 1, 2 & 2.5 stars. I imagine it would be much better to follow the reviewers' suggestions to spice it up, but I'll leave that to someone else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Easy, quick and good (not "fishy")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Maybe I didn't make it right this first time (?) but I couldn't taste the pecan at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeyWind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I added the spicy cajun seasoning and creole seasoning..and red pepper and I guess I got a little too much. It was very good but very spicy and we like spicy.,,however was a little too much. Next time I will cut back on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
It was very simple and tasted great. I added some spice to kick up the flavor a notch. But very good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wonderful way to prepare fresh catfish. My husband and children agree that this recipe is a keeper. Next time I will crush 1/2 of the pecans and put it in with the cornmeal coating and then sprinkle the rest on 5 minutes before the fish is finished baking that way the pecan flavor is uniform throughout the filets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great dish and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa “Sweettea” Coggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great catfish recipe. Added some essence seasoning really gave it that kick, plus lemon pepper seasoning...came out really good will definitely bake my fish from now on...also served with roasted asparagus and baked russet potato chunks which went with the clean and light flavor of the fish perfectly. Easy recipe especially for beginners. Plus since seafood already has a good amount of iodine in it I used mortons fine sea salt instead of iodized table salt to season with crushed peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was so good! I have always fried catfish, and was skeptical that it would get crispy enough in the oven, but it was perfect. I took some other reviewers' advice and added 1 tsp. blackened seasoning, 1/2 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes and two dashes of cayenne pepper. I also sprinkled both sides of the catfish nuggets with some lemon pepper seasoning salt before dipping it in the cornmeal mixture. I doubled the recipe, so I cooked mine for about 25 minutes before everything was crispy enough. I sprinkled the pecans on about 5 minutes before they were done, and wow were they good, definitely my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe is awesome, my husband loves catfish and loved this recipe. I put the finely crushed pecans in with the cornmeal and sprayed olive oil pam over the top of the fish. This recipe is a definite keeper. Great alternative (& healthier) than fried catfish. Also, very easy to prepare, less time in the kitchen. Thanks for sharing such a delicious recipe Deborah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States