Catfish Lafitte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is my favorite dish of all time. I had a similar version in a popular southern restaurant in college and searched for the recipe for a long time before I found this one. Aside from being delicious, it makes a killer presentation for guests – mine always rave about my “5 star” cooking after this. Its almost sad that its this easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I was actually a little disappointed by this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written, and thought it was too rich and a bit bland. Might try to spice it up IF I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This recipe is so delicious! Please try it next time you want to really impress dinner guests. It turns out perfectly every time, and the presentation makes it look quite fancy, but it's really easy. Jasmine rice goes well with this dish. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Excellent. Very rich tasting, mild enough for anyone, but you could spice it up if needed with suggested ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I made this last night for a special Valentine's Day meal and it was delicious! We had gone out for dinner the previous night, and my husband declared that this meal was even better than the one he had out. I too used white wine instead of vermouth, and I halved the recipe so it served two people. I steamed some asparagus and the meal was complete! I WILL be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This was wonderful. Cooked it along with jambalaya for Xmas and it came out well. My husband loved it! The sauce was delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This is an excellent fish sauce that closely resembles a sauce made at one of my favorite cajun restaurants. I did amend the recipe a bit and I think it has more spice and more savory than the original. Here are my changes, enjoy! increased butter to 2 tablespoons, cooking sherry instead of white vermouth, dry, white wine instead of lemon juice, increased total from 2 tsps to 1/4-1/2 cup. no ham. used 1 pound medium sized shrimp. added 1/4 tsp of cajun poultry seasoning. To get the consistency I wanted, I also ended up cooking this sauce for about 30 minutes at a slow simmer after boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
wow! This was wonderful and not difficult to make.My husband kept telling me how good this was. I followed the recipe except I used frozen shrimp which I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I made this last night for dinner! It was good! My husband and I are not huge catfish fans, but I wanted to branch out a little. This was easy to make. I did buy cooked shrimp and just heated it a little in butter and garlic before I served it. Also, I did not have any Vermouth, so I just used white wine, I don't think it made a huge difference. I really liked the sauce, very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I added mushrooms and green pepper when cooking the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mc Gehee, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States