Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really liked this recipe. Not a true gumbo but who cares; the taste was good. Next time I am going to try to make a rue first and also add shrimp and crawfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe is absolutely delicious! For those who are like me and are addicted to hot food : I added 4 Thai chilies sliced in half and half of a jalapeno for some fire! I also added 2 Tbs of flour since this recipe didn't call for you to make a rue, otherwise it was pretty soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was great !! I used 1 lb of shrimp instead of the fish (per another viewers suggestion). I followed the recipe exactly, and I swear I saw my hisband licking the pot afterwards. This makes enough for 6 servings, but with only the 2 of us, there were NO leftovers !!! Great recipe, this will be a regular at our table !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was OK. Not sure that I would make it again. Flavor is alright, but nothing incredible, and not sure I would call it "gumbo". I made this because I had all the ingredients on hand and was trying to experiment with catfish. I used beef broth, and I think you could be happy if you had more broth than what is called for here. I used a ton of Tabasco (how I roll) and it was decent, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is very tastee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisa Rivera
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I never eat Gumbo before, so made one yesterday, looking at some recipes, it's great! Love the taste and spicyness :) I used anaheim chilli, no bell pepper. No okra either, I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned one. Love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Without the fish it smelled great, but the fish ruined everything. Disclaimer: I'm not a catfish fun; my husband is, but he didn't enjoy this either. If you're not a big catfish fun either, I would suggest chicken instead of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Wow....this was great! I had leeks on hand, so I used those rather than onion, and I also used tilapia rather than catfish. Needed to get rid of the excess, and I think this would work with just about any type of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I thought this recipe was a great basis for my own gumbo recipe; being a first time gumbo maker, I used it to inspire me to make my own. I was inspired! And it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Everything looked and smelled soooo good until I put the catfish in. I just wasn't sure about "boiled" fish. I served it up and my kids wouldn't touch it even after convincing them that this is the same fish I fry w/ french fries. My husband and I tried it, and both agreed that shrimp would've been far better. We picked around the catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States