Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
both husband and mother in law from biloxi MS loved this definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Poor, poor this is not gumbo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Horse Cave, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing and God bless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This actually turned out better than I expected. Here's what I did: Sauteed veggies in oil, then added a bit of flour and cooked until it was starting to brown. Then I added the broth (which I had premixed). I didn't add okra, but used some carrots and yellow squash instead. I also added dried basil. And finally, I threw in about a quarter cup of rice with the catfish. It is delicious and the perfect consistency. I don't know how it would thicken up if no flour was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Yum. Even my picky, picky soup-hatin' son liked it. It's not so much a gumbo, though, as it has no roux. But oh-so-much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My family very much enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very good! My first time trying catfish AND okra, and I liked them. I'm not usually a "fish person", but the catfish was very mild and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe. I didn't add the salt instead I added Ms. Dash and I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes. It was perfect and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really liked this recipe. Not a true gumbo but who cares; the taste was good. Next time I am going to try to make a rue first and also add shrimp and crawfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe is absolutely delicious! For those who are like me and are addicted to hot food : I added 4 Thai chilies sliced in half and half of a jalapeno for some fire! I also added 2 Tbs of flour since this recipe didn't call for you to make a rue, otherwise it was pretty soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States